Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
25
4.3 out of 5 stars


TOP 500 REVIEWERon 17 May 2016
This omnibus edition provides 3 novels at a reasonable price. It collects "The Forever War" (1974), "Forever Free" (1999), and "Forever Peace" (1997), all written by Joe Haldeman, in a single 700 page volume. The first of these novels is the best, although the two subsequent novels are still interesting.

This is military science fiction, and concerns an interstellar war that rages for centuries. The human soldiers who take part are regularly subjected to near-lightspeed travels - and this has massive relativistic effects. What for them appears to be mere weeks or months does, in fact, take decades or centuries on Earth ... It becomes very difficult for the few soldiers who do survive to fit back into civilian life. Indeed, society changes in radical ways ... with homosexuality becoming the norm, and eventually cloning becoming standard. Ultimately, the story proceeds into the distant future, many millennia from now, when the central protagonist - a scientist and soldier named Mandella - meets 'God'.

This is a human drama played out against both intense conflicts (originally inspired by the Vietnam War) and the implications of science. The story is well-written and imaginative - indeed, often thought-provoking.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2014
A true science fiction fan will love this book. Well developed and interesting characters, excellent and engaging plot and an overall thought provoking book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2007
There are those who would say that Haldeman's seminal novel, The Forever War, and the subsequent follow-ups are derivative, that Robert Heinlein's Starship Troopers is being ripped off. I for one disagree. Haldeman's voice is unprecedented and much emulated in the years after it was published. The characters, the situations, the emotional turmoil that Mandella suffers as a soldier who becomes obsolete after his first time-spanning tour of duty, returning to an Earth that has left him behind, and that is no longer a world where he feels he can live as himself, is achingly well depicted and deserves a much wider audience than the geeks and freaks stereotypically derided as the main consumers of the genre. If there is one book that might turn you on to science fiction, then this is it. I urge you to try it, or failing that, pick up a copy of The Forever War. You won't regret it.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2008
This was the first Haldeman I have read and it got off to a cracking start. The first Story Forever War is brilliant. It's well written and the relativity idea works well. The snapshots of future earth are great.

The second Story, Forever Free is a direct sequel and is not as good. The characters are as good and strong as before and the build up of the story is excellent. However, the ending; will be a love-hate decider amongst readers. It took me a while to gather my thoughts on it and I came away disappointed.

The third story Forever Peace, is not related directly to the first two. Have to admit I found this hard going. I (unlike a lot of other readers) didn't mind the switching between 1st and 3rd person narrative. However, I did mind that a lot of interesting ideas were only skimmed or poorly realised. The ending, to me at least, seemed rushed.

If I were reviewing Forever War alone it would be 4 or 5 stars, but as a whole it pulls the average down.
11 Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2016
Peace and War is a collection of 3 sci-fi war novels which are based on the Vietnam war (and other wars, I suppose, to a lesser extent) and in particular the idea of change; of soldiers returning home to a world very different to the one they left. If I were just reviewing the first book, The Forever War, I would give it 4 stars but unfortunately the other 2 books in the collection drag it down.

The Forever War follows William Mandella, a young physicist drafted into the army to be in the first wave of an interplanetary war. The book focuses less on the war itself and more on how William stuggles to fit in as humanity changes around him. It's full of interesting concepts and while the story does feel rushed at times it keeps up the pace and ends up being a good read.

Forever free is a direct sequel to The Forever War and focuses on a group of ex-soldiers trying to live normal lives in the distant future. It's a lot slower than the previous entry and while the premise is interesting the plot takes a bizarre turn halfway through and never recovers, resulting in the worst, most nonsensical ending I've ever read in a book. I didn't think things could get any worse...

Forever Peace proved me wrong; it was really hard going. It's not directly related to the other two novels but follows a lot of the same themes with a physicist/soldiers fighting a war in the near future, aided by futuristic equipment. The story is dull and slow, the characters not particularly engaging, and many of the events in the book felt unnecessary. The few interesting parts are pretty much glossed over with potentially exciting plot developments having no real consequences. The only reason I forced myself to finish it was that I was already in too deep and didn't want to abandon ship so far into the 700-page collection, but I do wish I had stopped reading after book 1 as the sequels tainted a great story in my mind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2010
Took this book on holiday with me and for the most part really enjoyed it. There was not much war involved but then again much of war is waiting around for the actual fighting so in this respect the book was accurate. Two things that I needed to get my head around (as usual with sci-fi) were time travel and the meeting with the creator at the end of book 2. The ending seemed to be a bit a rapid closure and was not happy with the fact that they had been prevented from leaving the galaxy. Until this point I was really enjoying the story and, for me, it kind of tarnished it. Not enoough to ruin an otherwise thought provoking book.
Can't quite get into the third book but will carry on and leave an update when I have finished it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2011
First Book: The Forever War is perfection. I was blown away. I've read it more than a few times. Haldeman really conveys the horror of war, the isolation the soldier feels both on duty and having returned home, and the apparent apathy to the war and soldiers back on earth. Apparently its based on his experience of Vietnam. Buy it and love it. The other two books whilst not in the same class(Forever Peace and Forever Free) are still very good. Go on. Buy it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2012
this is great value for the three novels. The first is a classic book, the second not bad at all and the third just average, but , read them in sequence , in a week or so and the trilogy sticks together nicely, but the first one stays with you for sure, what an incredibly brave novel to write and how clever to tie in the ground breaking ideas about our future... BUY.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2011
... is what you get with this book (or rather, collection of three books). The writing is amazing. I personally find that the Forever War is my favourite. This book/books truly are works of art. The third one is not actually related to the first two, but is also worth reading.
If you like sci-fi, especially war based sci-fi, then this is for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2016
As it says on the tin. Good quality, 3 books in one, arrived earlier than expected (an unexpected bonus). If you like science-y books that have real world science not forced, but as an integral part of that universe, you will like this. Haven't read much of the 3rd book yet, but it seems promsing also.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse