Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
13
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
5
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 5 November 2002
Another great book from Simon R Green. It's very funny and doesn't take itself too seriously.
There are some really great ideas - like the Jimmy Thunder, part Hell's Angel, part film noir-private dick and part demi-God! - and some superb lines. Several scenes play out in unexpected ways - I love the troll under the bridge and the geeky deathwalkers - those suprises keep the interest up.
The description of Bradford-on-Avon is very well done and evokes a real sense of place - even if, like me, you've never visited there.
Most of the characters are well drawn, and the villans of the piece avoid caricature.
The only disappointment was the relationship between Toby and Gayle which needed a bit more weight to properly convince.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2008
Drinking Midnight Wine is written in a fast, sharp style that's become more and more familiar in Greens books written outside the Forest Kingdom & Deathstalker universes, in the Darkside and Shaman Bond books. The setting is similar in theory to Shadows Fall and the Nightside, but is a singular novel with no sequel. Well worth a read if you're a fan of Green.

It's set in around modern day Bath (UK) with a main character of a normal guy (Toby) who sees something that shouldn't really happen. There is of course a woman who has something about her thats more than just beautiful, more than merely perfect, but everyone who knows her reveres her. Toby follows her into her world meeting incredible (scary and lovable) characters, including the odd demi-god and angel and it becomes apparent that he's got something to do with something pretty important thats going on. He becomes a focus of something he can't understand.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2002
A book that builds slowly, yet by mid-way through I couldn't put it down. There is a lot of early character development and apparently not much action but it's all important for later on. The action all happens almost totally in a 24 hour period and action there is, with Norse god fighting an Angel ! Every character has their good and bad displayed. There is little black and white,even characters that are evil have redeeming qualities and the good have their boots of clay.
Another excellent book from Simon Green. The ending is much more satisfying than the ending of the Deathstalker series. This book is more akin to his Shadowsfall novel. If you liked it then this should be your cup-of-tea.
A very good five stars.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2002
Interesting experience, this. Living as I do in Bradford on Avon (actually I can do better than that, according to a tribute site I live in the same street as the author! Mr Green, if you read this, my house is the one with the fat tabby in the front garden and the sound of moderately well-played concertina floating through the windows) it is somewhat startling to learn that the town you live in is in fact the secret heart of the world...
The topography is right, and the people who live here aren't too disimilar to those Simon Green writes about. The book is a wonderful advert for the Dandy Lion, and I am expecting a significant increase in American accents in that fine hostelry any day now. The hero works in Gandalf's Bookshop, a thinly-disguised reference to the late lamented Bilbo's Bookshop of Bath. And so on. As I say, a real treat for a local, and I think very good for the book in general, as it gives it a real sense of location.
The book seems to consist mainly of conversations interspersed with bits of action. One or two bits of the book (the death walkers sequence, for instance) seem to be there mostly to make a point about a character rather than because they actually make narrative sense, and the ending is a little bit too happy for my comfort anyway, but the use of language is very good and make up for most shortcomings. It is a pretty good page-turner.
To some extent it feels like the scene-setting for a series. I hope so, as I enjoyed reading this book a lot and would happily buy any sequels that might appear.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 April 2003
Another great book from Simon R Green. It's very funny and doesn't take itself too seriously.
There are some really great ideas - like the Jimmy Thunder, part Hell's Angel, part film noir-private dick and part demi-God! - and some superb lines. Several scenes play out in unexpected ways - I love the troll under the bridge and the geeky deathwalkers - those suprises keep the interest up.
The description of Bradford-on-Avon is very well done and evokes a real sense of place - even if, like me, you've never visited there.
Most of the characters are well drawn, and the villans of the piece avoid caricature.
The only disappointment was the relationship between Toby and Gayle which needed a bit more weight to properly convince.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2016
Simon R Green is one of my favourite authors. His series of books has travelled through my life. He writes with that British flair. Epic story lines with Monty Python humour. This book writes about Bradford on Avon, a place close to my heart and Simon includes it into his bizarre imagination. Love it. One day I shall see you in Athens Dandy Lion and buy you a pint to say thank you for all the hours I've lost in your fantastical worlds.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2015
I really enjoyed this book and it's the first of this author that I've read. I thought the story was very clever and I couldn't put it down and I will certainly be buying more of his books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2014
Great read. Simon R Green has a real ability to create a character you instantly like Godlings and domination's alike. If you've read Simon before definitely read this as its a stand alone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2002
What can I say ? My first book by this author and I'll definitely buy more. Characters spring to life from the pages, and you just have to find out what happens to them. Simon Green's pace is fast, but with the just the right mixture of underlying humor, with an unexpected twist at the end.
Very readable, and a must for all fans of the "alternate world" genre.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2014
Love it and the author. Wish he Woukd write more, would recommend the author and his books to more people.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse