Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
10
1000 English Idioms Explained (English Language)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


Interesting bedtime reading
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 April 2011
This book is all right if you want a superficial, quick history of etymology. If you are looking, as I was, for an extensive list of idioms and expressions, then that's not it! Now I have to shop again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 February 2015
Can't put down!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 January 2010
Bought this after seeing it for considerably more in the shops as a gift. The recipient has enthused about it ever since so very pleased.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2015
Bought as a present at Christmas and am now being frequently told the meaning behind the words. She loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 May 2013
A good range of idioms covered, but there are still some that you will know that aren't in the book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 January 2015
Good coffee table/ rest room book with 'why do we say - why's it called thats' delivered in half page chunks....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 September 2012
It was a gift, so I didn't read it all, but the bits I glanced at seemed interesting and amusing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 November 2009
Love these books. This one is more diverse than most and a good buy if you like the answers to questions of where sayings originated. Very swift delivery from Amazon as usual.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 October 2014
great fun, well researched
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse