Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 17 June 2009
Some people ease effortlessly and naturally into cooking and others (me included) just eat the results and don't ask questions. But when you are suddenly face to face with the need to provide for yourself because the cook in your house is indisposed for some reason, The Classic 1000 Beginners' Recipes is a real lifesaver. This book offers an amazing range of straight-forward and carefully explained recipes, it even tells you how to arrange the cooking times for a roast dinner so that everything arrives at the table, hot and at the same time. You won't become Gordon Ramsey overnight, but you will be able to eat well from Day One.

If you only buy one cook-book, make sure it is this one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2009
I brought this for my daughter when she moved out( hip hip hooray) so far she has worked her way through most of the book and has not as yet poisoned the boyfriend so it must be great
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2006
***
This recipe book is a superb addition to anyone's culinary library - clearly not every recipe will suit every person but it is inconceivable that you would not find a significant number of useful recipes in here and even if you found just one nugget, then considering the price, it would be well worth it.

I have used this book extensively and refer to it again and again.

The variety of recipes in the 1000 series is simply staggering - to say you are stuck for choice is an understatement.

Ok, so there are no photographs but against that, the books don't cost a fortune either and they are compact.

You really cannot go wrong with any of these recipe books and when you consider they cost little more than 1 issue of pretty much any food magazine, well, they truly are an absolute bargain.

Buy this one, buy them all - you won't be disappointed.

***
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2013
Brought this book for the bf has he wants to learn how to cook since he got given the book I can't get him out the kitchen
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2005
I am only in my teens but found the recipes easy to follow and have already successfully made many of them for my family of four! They all loved the food and are begging me to make meals! EXCELLENT COOKBOOK!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2011
I bought this book as a present for my Granddaughter who has just got her own flat and has no experience of cooking. I expected it to be a lot more basic than it was with more detailed instructions. I think the names of the recipes would have put her off, even though they aren't that complicated they sound quite 'posh'. Anyway, I decided to keep it myself and have found it invaluable. I recommend this book to anyone who is already familiar with basic cooking.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2012
This book arrived in good condition and postage took a short time. This book is very good for beginners as it gives guidelines to what may seem simple to the cook that has been using receipe books for ages, but is a little more complicated for beginners. My teenage son found this book very helpful in starting to get to grips with cooking meals.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2016
Excellent book with lots of classic old family favourites but not really good for beginners. The pages are crammed with recipes which makes it rather difficult to access for the inexperienced cook who needs things clearly laid out. An excellent standby book which the beginner could move onto and use as a basis for years of sound cooking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2009
Great book which i bought for my teenage daughter. She loves it , says its really easy to understand, "dead easy to do the recipes", and explains everything really clearly. Would and have since bought it for other teenagers who all said the same. For any one not experienced or with just a little, this is a great little book, Thumbs up.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
I was a bit disappointment with the quality of the product, very bland and boring especially as it was meant to be for beginners.
The only colour was the cover and there were no pictures of the finished meals to give the new cook an idea of what they were meant to look like
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)