Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 June 2009
For anyone taking an interest in card magic, Royal Road is the definitive way-in. It's the one book that practically every experienced magician will recommend, and has yet to be bettered at this low price point. As a guide through the world of card magic, it's now rivaled by the fabulous Card College series, but the Card College books are only available from specialised magic dealers, and the whole set will cost you back well over £100.

Sure, a lot has been done with cards since Royal Road was written, but everything stands on the foundations laid out here by Hugard & Braue.

Forget about buying expensive individual tricks at magic shops. Get Royal Road and a deck of cards, and you're literally set for months of amazing fun and learning!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2005
Recommended to me by a magician (a good one). I bought this book. I know how you feel, you've bought loads of books all full of tricks with plastic cups and rubber bands, that wouldn't amaze a 3 year old. Me too I've got volumes of them, Well now it's time to get your hands on a "proper book"
Finally a real magic book that actually teaches you something. I can now shuffle a deck and keep the top card in position, move it to the bottom, hide it in the deck, keep a stack of aces at the top whilst shuffling, or even shuffle keeping the whole deck in order. Have I read the book? Not yet - I am only half way through the first chapter. You see my point.
Every single word is worth its weight in gold, no fillers, no plastic cups, just genuine skills, secrets and good tricks.
But don't be afraid, as mentioned above the book teaches "everything" starting with how to hold the deck, and going through a series of different shuffles and moves. each move is accompanied by a few tricks that utilise that move. There are also practice routines that build up your dexterity.
Later there are more complex tricks that build upon previous knowledge and full routines explaining how to move from one trick to the next, setting up the cards for the next trick as you perform the previous.
Get the book, get some cards, and get reading.
Tips: - get some good bicycle poker cards, several packs both red, and blue.
It helps to have someone else read the instructions to you, as you hold the cards. It's impossible to manipulate cards, hold a book and read at the same time.
Start at the start, and don't rush it.
Look, just buy the damn book!
0Comment| 173 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2007
Ask any pro, what book should i get to start of card magic/manipulation. They will all say RRCM. This book will start you of as a begginer, push you onto intermediate and if you follow it carefully you will finish a very experienced magician/mechanic.

I will say there are some slights in it which will require alot of practice i.e the pass but man learn them as they are indespensible. Once you get into this book you will realise what is possible. Get it and start at the beggining. Learn each move and some tricks with them. Not all the tricks are brilliant but most of them have a "wow, how did you do that" factor. This is well worth the buy.

Once you are finished with it and can do all the tricks get Erdnase book. Its the next step.

Good luck

God Bless - John 3:16
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2004
Quite simply one of the greatest books ever written on the subject of sleight of hand card magic. This book is one of the very first to teach card magic in structured way. Taking the student by the hand, focusng on one individual technique and then it's many applications.
The quality of the effect are simply outstnaidng; the last chapter contains material of the highest calibre. Routines like Everywhere and Nowhere, The Conus Aces and The Ladies Looking Glass are the finest mysteries ever created.
All that is required fromt the student is passion, patience and dedication; to learn, study and practise. Everything is here for the student to progress.
Many great magicians started with this book; I was one of them
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2002
I have had this book on my bookshelf since I started my interest in magic some 20 years ago ... and I still refer to it. The effects and techniques you learn are no mere one-off tricks but are the foundation of good card magic.
There are techniques that have been developed since the publication of this book which will not be included (although they will often be based on ideas included in the book), but there are also very practical techniques that seem to have gone out of fashion for no particular reason. Even magicians (who probably have a copy of this at home) will be stunned and totally fooled by some of these techniques.
If you are interested in learning to be a performing magician, you cannot go wrong by starting here. Now go out, enjoy yourself and entertain your audience.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2000
This is a brilliant book on card magic. It is a complete course covering everything from how to hold the deck to producing tricks that will astound an close-up audience (I've seen them done by David Blaine). Each chapter covers an essential manipulation and then gives you tricks based upon it.
The reason I rate it so highly is that it is easy to learn for a beginner but the tricks are 100% professional - none of those rubbish tricks you normally see in books.
How would you like to be able to put the Ace of Diamonds into someone's hand and the Ace of Spades in another and have them change places without touching?.....read on
0Comment| 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2013
Bought this for my teenage son for Christmas. Unfortunately he soon lost interest as I think it is maybe for people who want to do advanced card tricks. A big part of the book is on how to learn to shuffle the deck rather than the tricks. Instead he went on YouTube and got tricks of there.
I would probably recommend this book if you want to do more advanced card tricks.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2012
The content of this book is inspiring, learn the sleight of hand needed to fool even those closest to you with baffling and seemingly amazing card tricks.

The book takes you from the very foundations to complex trickery, in chapters which are structured like mini courses. Great stuff.

But the book fails in it's delivery of said information. The writing is lengthy as it has to be to describe the actions used in creating these tricks, and I would be much further through the book if it wasn't for this. As the lengthy descriptions are not very well backed up with step by step illustrations, there are a number of line drawings but these are few and far between.

In the first chapter for instance you are taught how to hold the deck correctly, this goes on for a page and a half, with only one, not very detailed drawing to illustrate it. When in realism the technique to the untrained hand is pretty awkward to start off with, in this a number of pictures from differed sides of the hand would aid in the description.
There are many other instances of this.

Like I said the content is very good indeed, and from a knowledgable source on the matter. But the delivery and descriptions are extremely lengthy without pictorial backup, and a thousand words is worth one picture. Especially in this, a most manual of subjects.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2002
If your just starting out with cards then this book is for you.
Dont get sucked into using gimmicked cards, take the royal road and be a king with a deck.
You will learn not only routines (tricks), but the lessons you need to build your techniques up.
It covers all the basic skills and takes you on through to the real hard core of card manipulation.
To say this book has been helpful would not pay it justice, the looks on peoples faces and the reaction I get, when using skills learnt from this book, make the money and practice worthwhile.
I would also highly recommend J.J.Bobo's coin manipulation book.
with the two books you will be able to perform anywhere at anytime.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 1 September 2015
The content is excellent. Anyone who can master the key techniques introduced here is well on the way to becoming an accomplished performer. The book is detailed and thorough. It seems to me to be all the more a pity that the explanations are not clearer and more simply expressed. The author’s dexterity with cards does not extend to words, alas. The drawings are largely redundant, certainly not clarifying the words.

Readers also need to be aware that all here depends on sleight of hand, when there are of course some marvellous tricks that involve deception of quite different kinds. For anyone who has the persistence and determination to penetrate to Hugard’s and Braue’s meaning and to put in the many hours of practice required to master the skills, they will acquire impressive expertise, but a beginner is likely to become quickly discouraged. For those well on the road to proficiency this book has much to offer and probably repays the struggle with less than transparent elucidation of principles.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)