Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Discover more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
9
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
1
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 June 2012
I learned to play ukulele only recently and the author of this book, Lorraine Bow, was my teacher and a very fine one at that, making the instrument accessible and fun. My daughter, who is 5, wanted to learn to play too and going through it with her has been a great bonding experience with the book pitched perfectly for any child from her age up to around 10 or 12 I would say. It moves along at a sensible pace and the CD is great to add context and colour, with the parent/teacher notes being a great help if you're not a qualified music teacher. The ukulele is a perfect introduction to musical instruments for children as it's very easy to start and get fairly instant results, which spurs them on to greater things. And if YOU haven't started playing the uke yet, what's stopping you?
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2012
As a complete beginner I found this book exceptionally easy to follow, very straightforward with a good selection of tunes to ease one into the technique, helped by a first-class CD.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2016
Excellent value! really useful for individual as well as group lessons.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2015
Easy to understand..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2013
No issues, great item and great price. Product as described recommend to others, very good for kids learning to play. No problems with the item.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2013
This book is ideal for children who are beginners to the ukulele and the cd is a great way to encourage them to practise at home. Recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2013
This book was recommended by my Ukelele teacher. I had tried others and given up, they progressed too quickly. This one was fine.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2013
"If you've got nothing nice to say..." is an overused phrase. It should be "If you have nothing different or intelligent to say...". And that applies to this book. Despite its claims that it is a "landmark" in ukulele teaching, it is nothing of the sort.

There is nothing in this book different from other beginners' ukulele books. How to hold an ukulele, how to form the basic chords, beats and how to count them, several simple songs (songs which can be downloaded as free PDFs from numerous websites or as video lessons on youtube). If you already own an ukulele book for beginners, you do not need this one. There are enough books for teaching the basics; we do not need another.

Actually this book is an insult to teachers and parents. The authors think that teachers are unable to teach the ukulele to youngsters without being told how. Any music teacher or ukulele playing parent can come up with their own lessons and teaching techniques.

I gave this book to a teacher at my local school to get a second opinion. His entire class of six-year-olds was playing all the songs after 3 1-hour lessons. A book that a six-year-old can finish in three hours is not good value for money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)