Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 23 December 2012
A sharp reminder to we smug westerners of how we have, century after century, misunderstood and abused Africa, and other civilizations, in the name of religious and commercial zeal. A timely reminder also of our excessive consumption in a world where millions starve. A beautifully written story, moving, amusing, colourful and compassionate.

TRCT
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2017
This is probably one of the best books I've ever read. It's a heartbreaking epic and the story will stick with you for a long time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2017
Extremely well written and an engaging story. It is quite long so requires commitment and meanders towards the end. An insight into post colonial Africa. If you are hooked read in the footsteps of Mr Kurtz by michela wrong.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2017
This is an excellent novel - truly splendid. It deals with profound issues while being very easy to read - an engaging narrative that engrosses. My favourite read this year.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2017
Enjoyed finding out about the different characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2017
couldn't put it down
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2013
I purchased this book on the recommendation of a friend. I was not disappointed. It is one of the best books I have read, and is the type that once you strat reading you cannot put down and you are really sorry when you have finished it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2017
Wonderful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2013
Like all of Barbara Kingsolver's books. Very good understanding of ordinary but interesting people and their lives. Later books her best.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2017
Always a worry when rereading a favourite book that it will be a disappointment, not so in this case, superb.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

The Lacuna
£6.66
Prodigal Summer
£7.16
Flight Behaviour
£6.70

Need customer service? Click here