Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
115
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I remember the first Charlie Brooker book I read - I was stranded in a train station, saw that it looked like something I could dip into without needing any deep investment or commitment, and thought 'That'll do'. I spent the next few hours stifling laughter as people around me stared. Fast forward a few books, and - well, it's all a bit tame, really. In many respects, it's not his fault - there's only so much you can mine out of one person's head, and the scattergun approach of a collection of columns means that he's got to cover a lot more ground than most authors. There's some good, solid funny in here - unfortunately, you'll find it once every few columns rather than once every few sentences.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2017
If you like his writing - you'll love this. If you don't - seek help and get better, then buy the book - you'll love it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 February 2015
An excellent and very funny collection of articles from Charlie Brooker. If you are a regular reader of his columns be aware you may do a lot of rereading, I am not and enjoyed this book a great deal. His ' Screenwipe ' ranting persona transfers perfectly to the page and at times had me literally falling over with his mad and true observations- his sardonic humour is not for everyone but I was in stitches.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2016
Moaning about people?

Sign me clean up.

If you know Brooker's work, you know what this is like. If you don't, he basically pretends to hate you for money and liberal left intelligentsia yucks.
Would buy again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2017
Great book, great seller, delivered quickly & accurate description, great price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2017
Typical Brooker: abrasive, sardonic and absolutely hilarious
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2013
Brooker gives his colourful creatively angry view on most of the annoying aspects of popular culture. Many laugh out loud moments.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2017
Charlie Brooker is a genius
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2017
Very funny
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2016
Put simply this is Charlie Brooker's weekly rant in news print collated & squeezed into one package, ..plus a whole load more, reading this is often akin to going back in time, feeling the bite of his wit come down on subject matter like a pack of (laughing) Hyena's.

It is hard going because it is a constant onslaught, so small bytes of charlie biting others is my recommendation, ..or simply line yourself up for slightly less scathing wit by starting with "Thinking About It Only Makes It Worse: And Other Lessons from Modern Life" by
David Mitchell which isn't quite as hectic as sitting in a hypothetical car driven by Brooker who is driving the wrong way down a busy motorway, ala james bond, only swearier!

A good read, but might make your nans's ears burn!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here