Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
75
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 December 2014
This was the most disappointing book. Very slow and dragged out the storyline for unusually long time. Very unlike all her other books. Failed to see the motives, with very weak characters, and no suspense, just prolonged nonsense
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2013
I have read many PD James books but this has to be the worst!
Took ages to read and certainly wasnt a page turner - long drawn out and I struggled to finish it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
Another first class read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2006
Tedious beyond belief, every paragraph proclaiming, 'THIS IS A REAL NOVEL, NOT A MERE DETECTIVE YARN.' An intriguing enough mystery has been entirely ruined by 'fine' writing and an over-abundance of 'psychological insights'. The novel collapses under its own weight. It falls between two stools -- it is tiresome both as crime novel and as a straight novel. No one in the end could possibly care whodunit. Incredible that it got the Gold Dagger in the mid-80s -- the only explanation is that it must have been a terrible year for detective novels and they couldn't find anything better?
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2009
If you are a fan of Modesty Blaise this needs no introduction - in my opinion this is possibly the best in an excellent series. I would also recommend the graphic novels which fill in extra background on Modesty and Willie. While all the books can be read as a one off they are better read in order of publication.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
I bought this as a present for my grandpa, who likes a good taped murder mystery as bedtime listening. He's loving it: clear characterisation, good writing and a strong plot, and it's kept him going for months albeit in strictly rationed portions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2016
Too much narration . Takes a while to get into the storyline..just not rocking my boat.
But that's just me, I like the full dramatisations audio's .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2013
This is the first book I down loaded on my Kindle and it is not only a great book as one would expect from P.D. James but th Knidle is marvellous as well
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2011
This is the best one I've read so far out of the first four Modesty Blaise books I have read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
I'm reading PD James novels in order and this was the best yet,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse