Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
45
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 October 2013
Very well written, excellently referenced, a great section at the back on how to be pro-active in feminism today (including women's charities).

I have read many books on feminism and this one was easy to read as it is written extremely well, but a lot of the content is pretty harrowing in such a condensed form. (But that is what makes this book essential.)

It is structured, however, to end on a positive, pro-active and hopeful note.

Thanks to the author, its great to read such a fierce voice.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2013
This is an excellent book about feminism and I would argue that it is the best I have read on the issue. I would recommend it to others who are also interested as it is coherent but also makes you think about things which you otherwise might not have thought about.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2014
Really interesting reading. Loved how it uses facts and figures rather than speculation. The interviews and layout of the book is great and highlights all the areas effecting women and men today. great read for men and women!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2015
Fantastic book, is helping me come on leaps and bounds with my feminist based dissertation
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2013
With two young daughters, I am fed up with the acceptance of a soft porn pop culture that is regarded as normal.
This is an important book for me because I want more for my children and I want them to know and feel proud of themselves.
The book is relevant for pre-pubescent girls, teenagers, women of ages. It's like the start of fighting back.
Thank you.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2012
I think that this is a very important book, not just for those already interested in feminisms. It questions some fundamental flaws in our attitudes towards women. Some have crticised it for being written in an angry tone. I personally believe it is the right ammount of angry considering the injustices it discusses. Not just theorising, Banyard backs up her views with scientific evidence. Essential read.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Arranged in the form of progress through a typical day - the book starts with appearance and eating disorders. Anorexia and Bulimia are primarily women's diseases and over 90% of sufferers are women. Even young girls are expected to go to school wearing makeup and with their hair done properly and to diet until their bodies conform to the generally accepted ideas of beauty. For women a great deal of time must be spent ensuring they are fit to face the world. Appearances are all important and women will be judged on them throughout the day. Unlike men they can't just shower and throw on a few garments.

The book highlights the way women are still regarded as bodies first and foremost rather than people. Women are judged on what they look like, what they wear and how they behave rather than being judged on their capabilities. The author raises some of the same questions as Natasha Walter in 'Living Dolls'. Is it really empowering to take up a career in the sex industry? The women the author talks to show clearly that being a lap dancer is not glamorous or even very well paid and that most women involved do it because they have been unable to find any other work which fits in with their other commitments.

At work or school women and girls run the risk of being harassed and criticised for their appearance. I was horrified to read about the schoolgirls who suffer sexual abuse - both physical and verbal. Even if they complain they are just told `Boys will be boys'; which is hardly a constructive attitude. At work similar things happen and women are rarely judged on their ability to get the job done. Women are still in a minority in Parliament and in the top 100 companies. One fact which stuck in my mind is that Rwanda has more than 50% women in its government and that the position of women in that country is improving tremendously as a result. If they can do it why can't the First World? Anti-discrimination laws cannot change people's attitudes and even though legislation in the 1970s made overt discrimination illegal changing the law will not change people's attitudes so covert discrimination will still exist and is very much more difficult to identify.

There is no doubt domestic violence of any sort is a serious problem in modern Britain but the book fails to discuss women's violence against men and children. It concentrates on male violence against women. Obviously this is important but I would have liked to see some mention of violence where women are the aggressors rather than the assumption that where women use violence it is always in self-defence.

I thought the section on pornography and the sex industry in general was very interesting and conveys the way pornography is becoming ever more extreme. Aggression towards women is commonplace and women are treated as objects which men use for their pleasure. Lads mags are freely available - not even on the top shelf in newsagents - though their content is ever more pornographic and misogynistic. Pornography is almost exclusively heterosexual and strongly influences fashion and beauty - most notably in the way women are expected to remove all traces of body hair.

This is an extremely interesting and well written book which raises many questions about the state of gender equality today. It contains a comprehensive list of organisations fighting for gender equality, together with notes on each chapter and a short list of useful reading. There are many references which can be followed up for more information and an index. As this book has `The Truth about Women and Men Today' in its title I would have liked to see a bit more about the way stereotypes and expectations affect men as well as women but that does not detract from the overall message - the fight for equality has a long way to go.
1818 Comments| 69 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2010
I absolutely loved reading this book and I cannot recommend it enough! It's worth every penny I paid for it! It's a very interesting and enjoyable read and I recommend it to absolutely everyone! The book itself isn't too long and isn't too short, but you probably will wish it was longer so you can find the answers to the questions that the book leaves you asking. This book proves that we still have a long way to go on the road to a fair and equal society.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2011
This book was great for a bigger feminist like me. I've always been feminist, but I guess it's because of my parent's divorce. This really informed well and I enjoyed reading it and having debates with my school-mates. Those debates got very tense and fiesty, like it always gets with me. However, this book actually made me win those debates and it was great to know this much of feminism and how important it's for us girls. It was shocking to know what happens in Britain from sexual abuse in school (which I never experienced) to that there ARE male feminists. I'm very protected from the first thing (sexual abuse) so it was a good thing that I now know it happens. I loved the information about the unfairness between men and women. Also that men are effected by the society rules, which I was naive and arrogant to. I only thought us females had problems. But knowing it's also hard for men it was a good thing for me. Thank you to Kat Banyard for writing this book and I enjoyed it greatly. All young feminists should read this book, and I'm sure they'll learn from this.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
Good intro but next text I read will be more in depth and particularly missed how sexism manifests in religion
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)