Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
508
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.29+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 September 2017
Beautifully written and quite topical (as its about post partition India) but a very depressing tale full of poverty and misery. A few brief spells of happiness for the characters but they are pretty short lived. It gives interesting insight into India after partition during the Emergency, the caste system and what it was like to live as a poor, lower caste person. I assume it was well researched and is fairly accurate. My friend loved it and highly recommended it but its too depressing for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2017
Didn't realise when I purchased this book I had read it before. However I enjoyed reading it as much the second time as the first. I think it will strike a chord with anyone who has been to India. This author has the ability to make the characters and surroundings come alive. A jolly good read
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2017
If you know India at all this is a wonderful book.
You are taken to India with all its good and bad points ..... vivid descriptions, four wonderful main characters and colours you can easily imagine. When it first arrived I couldn't believe I would read every page but I did .... and I loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2017
Absolutely brilliant book which I read some time ago but bought for a friend as it is on the "100 books everyone should have read list".
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2017
This book takes you on a journey with the characters who all come from different backgrounds. They way their lives entwine and their relationships grow is beautiful. The challenges they face are heart breaking and helps you to appreciate the unfairness of their lives and others who still live these lives today.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2012
This book certainly opens your eyes to conditions in India in the mid 1970's. The characters are unforgettable as their lives come together in unexpected ways. In parts it is harrowing and you wonder how anyone can survive the events that befall them, but in amongst the sadness there are moments when the human spirit triumphs over adversity. This book is not for the faint hearted but you will never forget it and Rohan Mistry writes with real insight and compassion.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2017
Great read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2017
A poignant well observed book, a well crafted glimpse Ito another world, I laughed and cried, marvellous
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2017
A remarkable moving read. Very engrossing atmospheric and evocative. A mixture of humour and pathos; how can humankind treat others less fortunate than themselves so badly? Don't be put off by its length; the book flows so well and I just had to keep turning the pages.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2017
A fantastic story of intellectual and emotional breadth and depth - cleverly depicting the uncomfortable relaities of Indian life through the eys of 4 main protagonists - harrowing but unforgettable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here