Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
23
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Well, what can I say? Definately not my usual sort of read but a friend lent it to me and urged me to read it. Its a really short, young adults book.
I think I agree with Ardal O Hanlon who said; it was grotesque, depraved and above all very funny.

It is an amazing little book and will appeal to juvenile boys and 'grown up' boys I would guess. It is horrifying, silly, funny, and the drawings are amazing.

You would probably read it in an hour or so. Give it a go!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2014
I got this for my teenage son, as it's more his type of humour, but once I started reading it, it's dark humour had me. Great read, but not suitable for younger kids.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2000
Well, I imagine this book will take you no more than a couple of hours to get through. Question is, is it worth it? It's an adult novel masquerading as a children's novel, it's strange, it's gory, it's funny, but it's too short. The style falls somewhere between Roald Dahl and Robert Rankin, without being as good as either.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
Tom Bakers Darkly funny book. Laugh out loud funny. Wonderfully illustrated. By the best Doctor Who ever! Enjoy you will love it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2002
When I started reading it, I couldn't put it down! It is a strange story about a boy who despises pigs, but then realises it's humans he hates. This is the story of how he gets his own back on humans - and kills loads of people in the process, buy shooting an arrow into a horse!!!
Although I highly enjoyed the book, I don't think it would be worth paying £13 for it! Plus, it's a bit misleading - not for children, but, don't judge a book by it's cover! Read it if you get the chance.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2001
Anyone who is not entirely satisfied with this book should ask themselves what more they want. This book evokes a wide range of feelings ranging from terror and disbelief to histerical laughter. For such a short book it has everything and it's worth every penny. So what are you waiting for?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2007
This is a very strange tale of a little boy who has an evil streak a mile wide. Strange literary images flood each page, spurred on by the line drawings opposite. Enjoyable, if not highly bizarre. Not for the faint-hearted!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2015
Enjoyed the story ! Well written !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 February 2003
This is by no means the best work that Tom Baker is capable of. He has an entertaining prose style and is very eccentric in both his language and his story ideas. The problem here is with the story. It is basically a very silly chain of events taking place within a few minutes. In itself that is not a bad idea, but it does have the feel of something that was knocked out in an afternoon. This was written by Tom following his success with his autobiography [...] with Faber & Faber. You'll like it if you like Tom himself, Spike Milligan, Eric Sykes, or Edward Lear. Even better is the talking book, read by Tom himself - who can resist that velvety voice?!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2005
This weird little tale starts out extremely well, and is full of excellent characters and uncompromising strangeness (the scene which finally 'turns' Robert against humanity, the news story about how a mob on a beach attack and dismember a great white shark is typically funny and brutal) but from about halfway on it goes seriously wrong: the last half of the book is unpleasant without being particularly witty and funny, and ultimately you are left with the feeling that if it hadn't been written by Tom Baker (you constantly hear his mad booming voice in your head while reading it), it wouldn't have got nearly as much praise or attention -- if you're anything like me, you constantly impose a sort of bonkers Dr Who cosiness onto the book as you're reading it, which isn't really there in the book itself. The start pitches itself as a children's book, but the end is adolescent horror. Not for kids, but ultimately not really for adults either. (Perhaps for sharks?).
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse