Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
16
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
15
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 July 2001
I have read Black Holes and Uncle Albert and I think it's really good. In fact, I think it's one of the best books I've ever read! It's about a ten-year-old girl finding out about the Universe with her Uncle Albert. WHAT is a black hole? HOW do you travel in a straight line but in a circle as well? WHY do things fall to the ground? The answers are all in this book. There is another book in the series - The Time and Space of Uncle Albert.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2009
Why isn't this basic school reading? If all children started with this, by the time they got to the less thrilling details of science lessons they would realise there is a point to it. Write to somebody! (This counts as my effort).
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2012
Bought this for g/daughter (aged 9), she has now read all the Uncle Albert books and adores them. I like the fact that the main character is a girl, and not the usual feeble "pink" princess character found in so many books aimed at this age group.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2001
Black Holes And Uncle Albert is a fantastic book. It's about a girl and her Uncle Albert, who has a thought bubble that can beam the girl (Gedanken)up into itself. Gedanken has many adventures exploring the Universe in the bubble, as well as watching an imaginary one. I really liked Uncle Albert, as well as the other book,The Time and Space of Uncle Albert. But the fun ends when Gedanken almost gets sucked into a black hole...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2012
A really good read for youngsters that have a scientifically inquisitive mind. Also useful for those that are looking for inventive ways to explain such difficult concepts.

Buy the set!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2015
A good explanation of real physics in the guise of a short story for young scientists around top juniors or early secondary school age.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2013
Purchased for a very bright 7 year old who wants to work for NASA! I have no doubt that he will do just that
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2014
Arrived promptly and exactly as described, thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
Great book for children. A nice read for adults too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2015
Great product and quick delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse