Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Paloma Faith Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
20
4.9 out of 5 stars

on 7 June 2017
Great read for any science loving kids (or big kids!). Easy to understand complex ideas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2012
A really good read for youngsters that have a scientifically inquisitive mind. Also useful for those that are looking for inventive ways to explain such difficult concepts.

Buy the set!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2001
I have read Black Holes and Uncle Albert and I think it's really good. In fact, I think it's one of the best books I've ever read! It's about a ten-year-old girl finding out about the Universe with her Uncle Albert. WHAT is a black hole? HOW do you travel in a straight line but in a circle as well? WHY do things fall to the ground? The answers are all in this book. There is another book in the series - The Time and Space of Uncle Albert.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2009
Why isn't this basic school reading? If all children started with this, by the time they got to the less thrilling details of science lessons they would realise there is a point to it. Write to somebody! (This counts as my effort).
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2001
Black Holes And Uncle Albert is a fantastic book. It's about a girl and her Uncle Albert, who has a thought bubble that can beam the girl (Gedanken)up into itself. Gedanken has many adventures exploring the Universe in the bubble, as well as watching an imaginary one. I really liked Uncle Albert, as well as the other book,The Time and Space of Uncle Albert. But the fun ends when Gedanken almost gets sucked into a black hole...
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2012
Bought this for g/daughter (aged 9), she has now read all the Uncle Albert books and adores them. I like the fact that the main character is a girl, and not the usual feeble "pink" princess character found in so many books aimed at this age group.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2016
I love the Uncle Albert books. Not only are they an entertaining read but they introduce the reader to some of the most fundamental yet counter-intuitive principles of our Universe. My daughter first read these when she was 10. In her words they are 'amazing' and 'really make you think'. As a physics educator myself I'd love to see all young people reading them. The concepts are not covered until at least age 17 in UK school curricula which I think is a great pity since young people are naturally full of wonder about the world around them and deserve to have their eyes opened to these important ideas. Forget fictional stories of magic. The real world is far more wonderful and seemingly 'magical' than most fiction writers have imagined.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2015
A good explanation of real physics in the guise of a short story for young scientists around top juniors or early secondary school age.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2013
Purchased for a very bright 7 year old who wants to work for NASA! I have no doubt that he will do just that
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2016
Great book for children to encourage an enquiring mind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here