Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
28
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 June 2013
I saw this at the theatre and loved it. It is simply superb, dark, funny and yet surprisingly playable characters for actors.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2012
This is a wonderfully worded play by McDonagh. By means of a totalitarian setting, this is a concise portrayal of the social responsibility of writing, sly elements of literary criticism, and the magnificent power of words. Shocking, exciting, and hard hitting, I imagine its true power would be seen in its intended stage performance. A must-read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2014
An integral play in modern and current drama. Incredible script and should be read by all.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2010
The Pillowman
For some reason, i've only just discovered Martin McDonagh's work. I enjoyed his films, but the written stuff i've read - 'The Pillowman', 'The Beauty Queen of Leenane' and 'The Lonesome West' were terrific! Unfortunately, i've not seen them performed and imagine - particularly the Irish plays - that they would require actors with exceptional verbal rhythm skills to do the writing justice. I didn't feel they quite had it in the films.
I think in 'The Pillowman', McDonagh sets out his stall for the other plays, as it were: a deceptively non gratuitous, naive violence and humour that satirizes the glamour of pain. However, unlike many plays, this is a joy to read solely for literary purposes. There are so many short - albeit brutal in the extreme - 'fairy tales' that are included in a simple narrative: the author is interrogated and tortured by police in an unnamed country. Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
There are two major typos in this copy and in others of it's edition. One line is another characters, susbstantiated with another published edition and that makes sense witht the story. Another is a grammatical typo.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2016
The intensity of this piece is immense, this is not for the faint of heart. But what a story and a compelling narrative. Strongly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2005
For innovation, this play gets top marks. But for entertainment, I give it one out of ten.
One cannot but wonder where Martin McDonagh's gradual slide into increasing violence in his plays comes from. With The Pillowman, the violence is about as horrific as you can get. Compare this with his first play, The Beauty Queen of Linane where a daughter tortures her mother during a ten-minute period of the play. In the Pillowman, the violence is all consuming throughout and I longed for some let-up, some light relief, somewhere. For those who like complete utter cruelty, read this play.
Despite my criticism, I remain in utter awe of Martin McDonagh's creative talent. Still, I would like more of a balance between the depraved side of human nature with what we all know exists as well, the noble and generous kind.
33 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2015
Arrived well before its time so pleased as it was for an audition piece for an interview really pleased.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2016
Probably the best and saddest McDonagh. It is a mesmerizing reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2015
Epic play! Studied in college and have to have my own copy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse