Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 2 September 2017
Reasonably well written but the central character seems somewhat two dimentional and swamped in the opening section by her family history, environment and setting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 January 2016
Andrew is a powerful writer - never fails to engross.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 August 2015
Interesting
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 November 2015
Too close to the Lena Zavaroni story, without adding anything to it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 January 2015
Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 April 2015
Andrew O Hagan became known to me after I watched a a tv series by him on Robert Burns. By accident I discovered a novel of his in our village library. So I was keen to read more and was delighted to find him on Kindle. Personalty is a compelling account of a young girl who becomes famous after being "discovered" on a talent show on tv at the tender age of thirteen and the way in which she is mismanaged from then onward with tragic consequencies. The story is partly set on the Island of Bute, which is just a few miles from the neighbouring Island of Arran where I live so it has a special relevance for me.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 6 April 2017
Three things separate Maria Tambini from the other inhabitants of Rothesay on the island of Bute: her family are Italian; she is the child of a single mother (with depression); and she has, from a very young age, an amazingly powerful and good singing voice, and a complete lack of inhibition about performing. Her uncle Alfredo, hoping to get Maria away from a dead-end life on Bute and her mother's increasingly miserable influence, sends a demo tape of Maria to 'Opportunity Knocks' (this being the heyday of 1970s television talent shows), and an impressed talent scout is soon up on Bute watching Maria perform. Maria goes down to London, wins 'Opportunity Knocks' seven times and launches into stardom, performing on television, in variety shows, at charity events and with popular singers in the USA and the UK and making recordings. But child (or early adolescent) stardom means that she never has enough time to concentrate on her studies at the Italia Conti school or make any real plans for the future, and the narcissistic celebrity world leads her first to turn her back on old friends, and then, increasingly, to starve herself in the hope that she can become ever more beautiful. Soon, Maria is careering fast towards a very dangerous type of anorexia. Salvation appears to come when she meets an old friend from Bute, now based in London - but can his care save her from herself, her family's dark legacy of depression and from the sinister fan who has become obsessed with her?

I bought this (and other O'Hagan novels) in a bid to read more male contemporary authors but it sat on my shelf for a while before I got round to reading it. I wish I hadn't left it so long! 'Personality' is a stunning book in so many ways. It's loosely modelled on the story of the real Italian-Scots child star Lena Zavaroni - but O'Hagan includes much that's purely imagined, such as the young literature-loving Michael who becomes Maria's boyfriend (is he modelled on O'Hagan himself at all?!), Maria's family background, which includes a sinister event related to the Arandora Star tragedy during World War II, when a ship of Italian immigrants was torpedoed, causing multiple deaths, and the Indian family who Maria is close to as a child, so it doesn't merely feel like the literary equivalent of a biopic. O'Hagan writes sensitively and without ghoulishness about anorexia and bulimia, and is very clever in showing both how fame makes Maria at least for some years rather obnoxious (the letters from her increasingly worried Scots-Indian friend Kalpana and Maria's cold responses are chilling) and destroys her, so that she comes to feel that her 'personality' is a totally invented thing'. His descriptive language - about the Isle of Bute, about Maria and Michael's intimacy and the places they visit, even about mundane things such as the inside of a cafe or a station lavatory - is richly poetic and vividd. I loved the way that, rather than tell Maria's story just from her point of view, he gave us multiple voices: Hughie Green the host of 'Opportunity Knocks' (who he managed to even make sympathetic in a funny way), Maria's unhappy mother Rosa, loyal Michael, the working-class lad who found literature led him to an English degree and then to charity work, quiet and mysterious Alfredo, Rosa's secretive very Italian grandmama Lucia - and others. This worked well, creating a whole host of stories rather than just focussing on Maria's bleak destiny. The story is unendingly interesting, and O'Hagan's thoughts on the attractions and the dangers of the celebrity world are astute. I particularly liked the way that he worked Maria's Italian heritage into the story, particularly through Lucia and the account of her love affair with the opera singer.

There were the odd moments where I felt that the narrative very slightly faltered. It would have been perhaps interesting to get a feeling of what precipitated Maria into anorexia (the narrative slightly jumps from Maria as a confident early adolescent to Maria as a fasting performer) - though I suppose this may be clear from 'undercurrents' in the sequence of letters between Maria and her friend Kalpana? It might also have been interesting to hear more from Rosa about why she finally made the choice she had. And the subplot with the stalker, though very effective, felt very slightly rushed in some aspects - it was never made clear, for example, why Maria and Michael didn't go to the police about him. However, I can see why this element was introduced into the plot, and it did lead to a very memorable final scene, which both shocked but, in the end, left the reader with a strong sense of hope.

A very masterful and thoughtful book, stunningly written. I'm looking forward to reading more novels by Andrew O'Hagan.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 July 2012
I really enjoyed this book. At the centre of the story is a child singer propelled into stardom via a talent show and her decline into mental illness. Her decline is as a result of the pressures of fame and the politics and secrets of her dysfunctional family. Her family's problems are themselves understood in the context of bigger issues such as war and immigration. This is as much a saga of the Scots-Italian family across generations as it is the focal character of Maria. O"Hagan writes beautifully and really captures the 70s zeitgeist. The characters are well-rounded and credible. He adopts multiple viewpoints (third person, a number of first person accounts) plus some script and epistolary techniques. However, this is neither confusing nor pretentious.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 May 2016
Just awful: whimsy dressed up as a folk tale of poor-but-happy folk getting on with their broken lives, in the chip shop, and letting the darling buds of May blow their troubles away.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 January 2015
I am very angry with the list of who Andrew thanked at the back of Personality. He thanks Hughie Green, Opportunity Knocks. But Hughie Green died 3rd May 1997. This book would not have been published in 2004 if it wasn't for my friend Late singing star Lena Zavaroni. But Andrew O'Hagan has failed to thank any of Lena's family, or her managers. Apart from that with Lena's name changed to Maria Tambini I really enjoyed reading Personality. Maria seems to have a bit wild side to her in the way she speaks and some of the things she does. Naturally a character has to be made larger than life or the character becomes not intersting to read about. Lena was not like that she was very quietly spoken. We wrote to each other and we was always chatting and laughing together. I must say though that Personality is one the best novels that I have read in a long time. Although I am upset that Andrew hasn't thanked any one connected to Lena Zavaron,I will be reading more Andrew's work. I highly recommend Personality. Review by ireadnovels.wordpress.com
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Be Near Me
£8.99
The Missing
£8.99
Our Fathers
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here