Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

This is a "western" which gallops to life, and the reader feels the grit, smells the dust, and agonizes with desperate characters as they are tossed every which way, not by their own deliberate decisions so much as by the unpredictability of their Australian frontier existence.
Ned Kelly, the Jesse James of Australia, becomes human here, not a monstrous blackguard so much as a man who is forced to make impossible choices. In this tale, which purports to be the hand-written autobiography he wants to leave for his baby daughter, we follow his childhood in poverty, his reluctant "apprenticeship" to the villainous Harry Powers, his cruel imprisonment by corrupt authorities, and his attempts to stay out of trouble upon his release. The judicial system's attack on his mother, however, becomes the catalyst for Ned's life in crime, a life which the reader understands could have been completely different, had authorities simply shown more compassion.
Carey is masterful in using small details to show contrasts and to make the big picture come alive. A new pair of soft boots achieves almost mystical significance--the ecstasy of their acquisition contrasting with the strength achieved through their sacrifice. "Fresh bread and jam...barley and mutton soup," served to Ned in jail, provide poignant contrast to the poorer, leaner fare on the farm. And a red silk dress becomes a symbol for corruption in one context and love in another.
This is a vigorous, exuberant, and uncompromising vision of wilderness life and death. It is the sensitive portrayal of a young man forced to make impossible decisions to save and protect his family. And it is a passionate love story told with a warmth and sympathy that is all the more poignant for its contrast with the murder and death which accompany it. Satisfying and rewarding on all levels.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2003
Yes it won the Booker price, and yes I loved it but its' important that you realise that there is no guarentee that you will enjoy it.
The written style is main thing to worry about. The narrators voice, Ned Kelly, can be a hard read. I've heard of people who have said that the found the books style a real grind to read and have never even finished the book. For me Ned Kelly's voice is utterly unique, free of the over intellectual prose of many authors. I was swept away, inside his head, into his world. I had never read anything like it.
It is clear Peter Carey has done a vast amount of research as well as made a massive leap of imagination. The gritty story is filled with tender and powerfully sad moments. It is certainly one of the most accomplished books I have read.
My advice, read a few pages or passages before you buy. If it you like the sound of it then go for it.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
As others have commented the book can be hard to read and can be difficult to get into, especially as it is over 400 pages long.

It is a very well researched and written book though, but for many the style of writing could be off putting.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2002
To be honest I had not heard of Peter Carey before I had heard about this book. I bought the book and found I was completely drawn into this world of Australian settlers/immigrants lives in the mid 19 th century. Ned voice was given a clarity and such depth I found I could not put this book down. I did, however, find myself wanting to find out more of Ned, and his descendants....great book. I loved it.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
'I do not know what childhood or youth I ever had. What remained if any were finally taken away inside that gaol boiled off me like fat and marrow is rendered within the tallow pot'.
An absorbing narrative, supposedly by Kelly himself and intended for his daughter, this brings out the brutality of late 19th century life in Australia. With power firmly in the hands of the Anglo-Australians, the poor Irish were at their mercy.
A cumulation of events, notably the imprisonment of his beloved mother, propels him to extreme action...
From beginning this book with a vague impression of Kelly as just an outlaw who got his comeuppance, I finished it with a lot of empathy for his hard life and was rooting for him. Sometimes it felt like it just went from one violent incident to the next; nonetheless it kept me reading and will remain with me.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2001
This is a riveting story of the struggle of a family to survive in nineteenth-century Australia. It is told by Ned Kelly himself and the language is correspondingly unpolished with very little use of punctuation. After the first chapter or so, however, you stop noticing the language and get involved in the story. This book has been greatly hyped because of the Booker Prize but it's probably one you should judge for yourself. There's lots that's worth reading even if you're not Australian!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2010
I don't often read novels, much preferring to view the characters, their emotion, the surroundings and any action unfold on screen. Peter Carey has, however, through taking a completely new approach to using the first person narrative, seized my imagination and achieved all that I would ask from a film in 421 pages of pure class.

Authors have attempted to tell the folk tale of the notorious Kelly Gang, but none have achieved such success as Carey. The story is told from the perspective of Ned Kelly, the leader of the gang and a supposed bank robber, horse thief, and murderer. He explains the life that led to him becoming Australia's most wanted man. Carey has written this novel in the form of rough, coarse, intimate entries by Kelly in a journal meant for the daughter he would never live to see. The famous bushranger outlines what took place during bank robberies and confrontations with the crooked men of the law- resulting in his persona of the people's very own Robin Hood. It is filled with such emotion that it is hard to remember it's not Kelly's own words. The sentences are compacted together without punctuation and scrawled in basic grammar. This is hard to grasp for the first few pages, but once you realise it's intention - to be as if its come straight from the outlaw's hand- it gives a refreshingly unique effect that nothing I have read before compares to.

We are not given any preconceptions of what a character is like, who they are, how they act as you would be in most other stories- but how Kelly sees, and feels about each character who impacted his life, whilst leaving us able to make our own judgement. Take the example of his relationship with his mother. Through his own expressions of undying love he feels for her, it is clear she can do no wrong in the eyes of her trusting son. Yet you will find yourself sympathetic towards Ned as she makes decisions that do not seem to benefit her son's well-being.

Carey uses Kelly's voice to depict what it felt like to have been a young, Irish, poverty stricken settler in 19th century Australia. His rocky relationship with his troubled father, becoming the man of the house so young, the effect his mentor Harry Power had on his life, the injustices of being oppressed by the colonial police force and the subsequent events which ended in him being branded a wanted man are portrayed with powerful moments, deeply saddening misfortunes and dry humour.

Contrary to the view that Ned Kelly was a criminal, he is shown as the brave leader of a gang fighting for their freedom from the injustices bestowed upon them.

Carey deserved the Booker prize for this wonderfully crafted novel. I cannot guarantee everyone will enjoy it as the writing style is hard to understand at first; but once you do it is mesmerising.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2002
I often don't enjoy Booker winners for some reasons, but this was different. For me, it's a masterpiece, at two levels. One is the more immediate and always enjoyable fictitious account, warm, infinitely sad at times, sometimes funny, of Ned Kelly and his family and fellow-travellers in early Australia. The account, written for his daughter whom he never meets or sees, is often self-justifying, distorted, frank, and always self-revealing. The other level concerns the whole basis of the book - written and laid out as if it is an accurate biography based on actual archive material, it raises fundamental questions about the truth and reality of the narratives built up about 'legend lives' - and, more generally, about the basis for any person's self-narrative, incuding and especially the reader's. How much self-justification and how much 'reality' go into any of our own life-accounts? It's a brilliant, more or less perfect book. Please buy it.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2010
When I were a young man (a long time ago...) I read a great short story by Peter Carey, `War Crimes' it was called, and I've had an on/off relationship with him ever since. I thought his first novel `Bliss' was superb but he lost me with `Illywhacker' which I found rather dull. I've dipped in and out ever since (must read `Oscar And Lucinda' again - couldn't make my mind up about it first time around), but this is a fine novel by an obviously hugely talented writer.

Ned Kelly certainly deserves something a bit better than Mick Jagger or Heath Ledger (not that it was really the late Mr Ledger's fault - it was just a pretty rubbishy film) and here he gets a worthy memorial.

The story is told in Kelly's words and, once you get the rhythm, is easy to follow. It doesn't seem particularly anti-English to me; rather it's the eternal story of the poor being persecuted by the rich if they get too `uppish'. Class rather than nationality is the issue.

Kelly is given sympathetic treatment but is not let off altogether. The murders at Stringybark Creek are understandable but, nevertheless, brutal, and Kelly's relationship with his mother is a little odd to put it mildly.

It goes on a little too long and Mary, Kelly's girlfriend, is not particularly well drawn but Carey's ability to create a world through a first-person narrative is very good indeed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse