Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
13
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 March 2017
Excellent service. Lovely book - thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2010
As a student, I have been to a poetry day where Simon Armitage himself came to discuss his poetry with us. The most fascinating thing that he revealed to us about this book, was the idea behind the title - as a young person himself, he would often play a party game with him friends to meet new people which consisted of striking a match and holding it until it burnt to your fingers. In this time, the person holding the match would have to tell their life story in the seconds it took the flame to reach their hand, until they had to blow it out. This also explains the asterisk marking the start of his poems - it is meant to represent the newly struck flame. This book is genius, so well thought out unlike many of today's contemporary poets' books, I would heavily recommend it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2008
I think this is one of the best poetry collections of the last 30 yrs.

The opening salvo of 'My party piece' is a spine-chiller and through to the last piece in that section describing a burnt-out Armitage in self-destruct mode sitting in his car- this is a modern classic which taps the Zeitgeist in a way only he can.

And I have to agree with the other reviewer about To a lost lover - your toes curl at the combination of intimacy, sensitivity and agonising regret.

Someone once said that 'poetry is the new rock n'roll' - if Elvis were alive today he would be writing poetry like this...

Thank you Simon.

Neil
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2002
'To his lost Lover' brought myself and my lover together. I have never been more inspired, made jelly-legged and envious of a poet. These poems seem straight forward but they are subtly layered, like slate which whilst seeming thin is actually made up of a myriad carefully arranged skins. Brilliant!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2016
Does what it should good price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2016
Gr8!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2000
at last a contemporary poet who has managed to combine a unique voice with such outdated notions as craft and technique. perhaps he can lead us out of the waste land poetry has become mired as it is with all those recent meaningless... poets.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2014
these are great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2015
Very satisfied
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2013
this is a poetry book very well written one of the best poetry books i have read it is worth reading
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here