Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
39
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 January 2014
A chance quotation in a book nudged me to look again at Eliot's poetry, which I haven't read for decades. This "slim volume" is a perfect re-acquaintance, without being too daunting. I remembered how I loved the poetry, and am finding new meaning this time around. Maybe I'll move on to more of it. Thank you.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
The Waste Land is an incredible poem, almost cinematic in its tone and breadth, longer than some short stories, more intelligent than most books. It doesn't pay to try and describe something that is already so absorbed into the English language. Suffice it to say, I think it is an essential poem, an historical tract in its own right (it captures that post-Great War ambivalence of gratitude for surviving, but being presented with a far from golden future). The kindle edition includes Prufrock and many other famous Eliot poems. Well worth buying for The Waste Land alone, if you don't already own it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2015
This is an alright copy of 'The Waste Land' and gives a small amount of explanatory notes (if they can be called that) but the amount of typos is unacceptable and as a student of English Literature, there were nowhere near enough explanatory notes or even anything to point out the rich variety of other texts that have been inserted into or influenced this poem... If you simply want to acquaint yourself with the bare basics of this quintessential poem then I'm sure that this (extremely thin) book (or perhaps even pamphlet?) would be fine for you but if you want a really in-depth, intricate analysis and explanatory notes (and boy, you'll need them...), then I definitely wouldn't recommend this to you.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2015
This is a completely unsatisfactory version of this important poem. For a new reader the layout is impossible, lines seem to merge into each other, no paragraphs between the individual sections. Do not buy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2015
Poem is fine, and this copy is good for annotation (note: it is not a full book, just a tiny paper booklet of this poem, which is good for writing on) but it is full of typos and mistakes! Only on the first poem and have found 'the' spelt 'tbe' and 'frere' spelt 'frère'. Might seem petty but really, typos like this are unacceptable for a published book, there has clearly been no proof reading whatsoever, as these are not small mistakes, and so very cheeky to charge £6 for one poem that is clearly a rushed print out! Do yourself a favour and just print the poem from the internet instead.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2001
This selection is okay -- but you hardly need a selected Eliot as his Collected Poems is not much longer, and is only a few pounds more. That's the one I'd go for.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2016
Such an awful edition!
The lines are all jumbled up and you will find line numbers right in the middle of line to prove how badly formatting it is. One line was half poem and half editors note without any distinction, which was very confusing. Form is so important in poetry, especially if you are getting this edition for educational purposes where you will be expected to look at particular lines. But in any case you would expect the edition to at least get the structure of the text right!

The book itself is more of a pamphlet with no editor's name so I'm assuming this was made by simply copying and pasting another edition without even going over to check the format.

Save your money and do not buy this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2015
I've read (and listened to) this collection of poems half a dozen times. THE WASTE LAND is, without a doubt, still my favourite. It's hard to understand, pompous at times and so dense with allusions to other works I lose track of what's Eliot's work and what isn't. And yet ... on some atavistic level this poem still "talks" to me. The rhythm, the magic, the sheer (dare I say it) poetry in the lines (April is the cruellest month, breeding lilacs out of the dead land) draws a reader in and shakes up emotions I didn't even know I had.

The tension between the physical and the metaphysical is tremendous; Eliot clearly had a deep experience of how earthbound and limited we are by the very denseness of our bodies (...the last fingers of leaf Clutch and sink into the wet bank), while the voice of our souls rush by unheard (The wind Crosses the brown land unheard). THE WASTE LAND is a mournful cry of a man trapped in a world of harsh reality (it was written only four years afer the devastation of Europe in World War 1), sensing there is something more (Madame Sosostris), yet unable to feel or perhaps believe in it (... this card, which is blank,...,which I am forbidden to see). Here, in this poem, is the struggle between the intellect and the emotions (fear death by water - in the Tarot the water cards represent emotion), good and evil and man's lower, sexual nature and his higher, Divine nature.

What a brilliant, depressing, strong poem it is!

So strong, it almost overshadows the other poems in this collection. But ASH WEDNESDAY, with its tone of sorrow and penitance already obvious from the title, is another powerful poem, as is JOURNEY OF THE MAGI and the remainder of the poems.

In its struggle between hope and despair, this collection is as relevant today as it was in Eliot's time and is worth the effort it takes to try and grasp its elusive meaning.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2016
Don't buy this copy of the poem - it is a terrible print out, where the line numbers are written so that they replace spaces in some places, causing the poem to get squished together, like this:

"Here is a line of the poem 110
here is the next line."

becomes:

"here is a line of the poem110here is
the next line."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2016
The line count did not match. Random notes from the edition are still in the text, (not off to one side or at the back of the book, but actually intertwined within the text). No page numbers, no CPSIA information inside the book. There are words places randomly across the page.

The editing would have been better I did it myself.

The cover was no worth the ridiculousness of the presented content.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse