Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 March 2004
Bought this for my 10 year old son and he just loves it! Up to the usual BBC Radio dramatisation standard.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2009
As someone who adores the 1984 television adaptation of John Masefield's surreal and magical seasonal tale, I was very excited to discover this full-cast audio adaptation. Just as wonderful as the TV version - more so given the limited special effects available in 1984 and the limitless bounds of imagination - a young schoolboy, Kay Harker, on his return from boarding school for the Christmas holidays, finds himself mixed up in a battle to possess a magical box, which allows the owner to go small and go swift, and which contains magical worlds as well as the ability to travel in time.
With such luminaries of stage and screen as the plummy Donald Sinden, Lionel Jeffries, the incomparable Spike Milligan and Celia Imrie; this is a superbly realised audio CD; lie back, close your eyes, and be transported to a snowy world of wolves, cars that turn into aeroplanes, humbugs, possets, and a cosy 1930s Christmas world. Superb.
0Comment| 62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2000
A cracking adventure story, full of magic, villans, high spirits and christmas nostalgia. This adaption is brilliant, and superbly cast. The wicked Abner Brown and his wife ` the pouncer ' are hillarious and menacing by turns. The hero, Kay Harker is everything a childrens hero should be, brave, inventive and intelligent. This is really wonderful, I'd recommend it to adults and children alike. It transports the listener to a different era, when people ate buttered eggs for tea, in front of crackling fires, it always snowed at christmas and people watched punch and judy shows instead of the television. And yet, the wolves were running... A thoroughly enjoyable experience!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2000
I have always loved this classic story, and was going to read it to my children when they were old enough. Imagine my joy at finding this excellent BBC production. which we then sat around listening to at home. My kids were enchanted just as I was.
Come on BBC lets have some more gems like this.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 1999
This lovely adaptation of John Masefield's book will remind you of what Christmas is really all about - magic, fairytale, imagination and the wonder of being a perennial child. I listen to it over and over again and it never loses its appeal. The cast members are uniformly excellent, with Lional Jeffreys especially memorable as Cole Hawlings. You really have to buy this one!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2014
Very pleased to get hold of this radio play since it is quite a rarity. Good story, great cast and good quality recording rather than the cheap 'other' version which is being retailed on inferior quality discs. A real Xmas treat up there with the Snowman and A Christmas Carol.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2013
A great Xmas story. I have loved this story for at least 30 years.We own a battered copy of the book, and the DVD (well played) My daughter (aged 7) is just as pleased with the CD. A favourite!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2013
Not necessarily suitable for younger children but beautifully put together and recorded. Can be listened to again and again as there is so much to take in.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2014
Brilliant! This is one of my favourite novels and this radio adaptation lived up to expectations. Great line-up of actors.
22 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2013
Its so well done you lose yourself in the story. I enjoyed this so much and will listen to it again and again.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse