Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Exclusive track - Ed Sheeran Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
51


TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 23 September 2010
This is an excellent selection of recipes, ideal for those who are short of time. It is nice to be able to vary the commonplace pasta & pesto or tomato sauce with more interesting alternatives.

Each recipe is laid out on a single page, usually no more than three or four steps in the preparation and using easily available ingredients and/or store cupboard basics. On the adjacent page there is a picture of the finished dish. Preparation/cooking times vary from 20 minutes to an hour and a half although the longer times are generally because the dish needs to be baked in the oven so you won't be standing over a pot for the whole time. Recipes are typically for two or four, plus a few for up to six people. I would say that two-thirds to three-quarters are pasta dishes with the remainder being more oriental noodles dishes. There is plenty to appeal to vegetarians as well as meat eaters, for example, summer veggie pasta, pasta with broad beans, two cheese lasagna with pesto, pumpkin pasta (perfect for an autumn supper) and gooey pasta bake (fabulous but really simple as it uses shop-bought tortellini). There is also a veggie bolognaise using lentils in place of meat. For meat eaters there is a good Sicilian lamb & noodles dish, pork & pinenut pappardelle, and a rigatoni sausage bake to mention just a few. On the oriental side of things, amongst others there are pad thai, tofu & veg stirfry, & pork & ginger noodles.

The only disadvantage is that the small size of the book means that the font is correspondingly reduced which is less easy to read from a distance when cooking. It is also difficult to keep the book open at the right page - my cookbook stand can't cope with such a small book and if you plonk a weight on the page it is then difficult to read anything. However this is a pretty minor quibble on what is otherwise a very handy book.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 November 2017
Great buy thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 June 2017
Very good in fact excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 October 2017
Easy to do lovely meals
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 December 2017
Bought as present for son. Easy to follow recipes
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 November 2017
happy useful
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 November 2009
I love pasta but am always stuck for ideas. This book is the ideal solution. Full of easy to use recipes and some vegetarian dishes as well. I tried one of the lasagne dishes out on some vegetarian friends who ate every bit of what I served to them and then came back for more! Recommended.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2010
This cookbook has been a godsend. I'm a working woman who cooks for a very large Viking husband who requires lots of carbs to keep him adequately fuelled. If left to his own devices, he'd eat nothing but spaghetti and meatballs every day. Fortunately for both of us, I found the GoodFood cookbook series and this one in particular. There are lots of delightful, varied pasta dishes in here that satisfy the husband's carb cravings and my desire to eat reasonably healthy, fresh food. Of all the cookbooks I have, this one gets used the most. Love it!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 December 2009
I really love most of the Good Food recipe books; they are normally jammed full of varied and flavoursome recipes for every occasion. They look and taste great yet are simple to make, with relatively few ingredients. This one does not disappoint.

This book is packed with loads of different recipes: main courses, simple suppers, veggie dishes, pasta bakes, noodles or low fat dishes; with choices from `Storecupboard Minestrone' and `Chicken Noodle Soup' to `Tuna pasta nicoise', `Pork and Rosemary lasagne' and `Aromatic Soy Pork'.

The recipes vary in cooking time from 20 minutes to over an hour for some of the pasta bakes, but they all have only 3 or 4 steps and are so basic that most people should be able to cook them. There really is something for everyone as long as you enjoy pasta and noodles! Plus there is a picture for every recipe so you know what you are getting, though they are not quite as impressive looking as some of the other Good Food recipes. And, because they are pasta and noodle based, they are mostly quite cheap to make. I don't always stick religiously to the recipes but what's great is that there are so many different ideas in the book that there is always something inspirational to make.

What I also really love is that the recipes each give you the calorie content and all nutritional information for each recipe at the bottom of each page, which is a standard for Good Food recipe books.

If you are looking for top cuisine then this book is not for you, but if you want easy, straightforward pasta and noodle recipes with loads of different recipes packed with flavour then this book is great.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 September 2009
My wife suffers from the effects of a couple of strokes. Before she retired she was a cook by trade but cannot cook anymore in fact she cannot even remember what to do! As a result I have to learn to cook and found it difficult to say the least. My daughter suggested a certain book and told me she had bought it from Amazon's. I tried this knowing that I would get good service, quick delivery and find it well packed. That is exactly what took place! Once again well done Amazon. The book has been very useful and I am beginning to cook properly and will try other books from this series.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)