Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
28
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 September 2003
Morecambe and Wise were, undoubtedly, the greatest British double-act of the twentieth century: the Laurel and Hardy of British television and the only act who can be mentioned in the same breath as Stan and Ollie. Gary Morecambe - who co-wrote the definitive biography of Eric and Ernie some years ago - here writes a much more subjective and emotional book about what it was like to grow up as the son of Eric Morecambe: the most revered comedian in Britain. And the result is a delight: touching, funny, insightful. Both Eric and Gary emerge from the book as warm, lovely men. It is a pleasure to read from first page to last.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2004
We are all familiar with "Morecambe and Wise", British comedy's best-loved double act. However, until recently, Gary Morecambe has been unable to tell us more of the story behind the legend, as he felt it was unfair to write a true critique of either partner while one or both of them were alive.
Ernie sadly passed away 5 years ago and, after a period of respect, Eric's son has written this book (his third or fourth about his father and his career). He is now able to tell us truthfully - and somewhat poignantly - about who his father really was.
There are many stories told in the book concerning his relationship with his father. I felt, reading these, that Gary didn't think he lived up to his father's high expectations. He loved his father and was loved in return, but he gives the impression that something was missing.
This is not a criticism, merely a "take" on the man's own words. It was, after all, the story of the first half of his life and there's not a lot one can do to alter that.
Generally, I thought the book was well-written, humourous and a fair summary of a great life and partnership. The book moved easily from happiness to sadness, from pride to irony.
I did draw one negative from the book: Gary referred to his Dad throughout most of the book as "EM"... This puzzled me, because he calls him "Dad" in quotations from earlier years and he calls his mother "Mum" or Joan, yet he consistently refers to Eric as "EM". I think perhaps he was trying to make it easier for us to read without having to decipher "Dad would do" or "Dad did this", but it felt unnatural and unnecessary - the book was given to me as a present, but I cherish it as written by an "insider", someone who can let us into the private life of our favourite comic.
However, this one criticism aside, the book was thoroughly enjoyable, very moving and will remain a reference book of "EM" history for many years.
I totally recommend it and would urge you to let it take you back to a time when Variety was the Spice Of Life.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 November 2003
What a great book and a wonderful Christmas present!
The book is written by Eric's son and goes behind the scenes of what it was like to live with one of the greatest comedians of all time. What I loved was the fact that Eric really was a nice guy and that he didn't put on any sort of act and his home life must have been great.
Well written and very touching in places (bring a tear to the eye!) and is a real feel good book that I strongly recommend you purchase.
One of the reads of the year for me!
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2011
if you read this book looking for memories about the golden age of Morecambe and Wise (and quite frankly why would you want to read it for any other reason) you will be VERY disappointed. For instance in approximately 170 pages Ernie Wise is featured about a dozen times and a few of those come after the death of Eric. Its mainly about the life of Gary Morecambe who seems to have done very nicely (not the first one obviously)off the back of a famous father without having any noticable talent at anything, certainly it comes across that way from this book . there are very few antecdotes from the great pair and it a VERY dull read.
im going to buy the new Ernie Wise bio to read on holiday in a few weeks and hope that will be better
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2006
Very disappointing. This reader was looking forward to a biography of Eric Morecambe, but it doesn't take long to find that it's a book about the author. The photographs are very interesting, but unfortunately the text is self-indulgent. The reader is left in no doubt that the author is 'the son of Eric Morecambe' and eventually begins to wonder about the number of times that, and similar statements are written. The author annoyingly refers to his father throughout the book as 'EM' and overall, the text contains little warmth. I wouldn't recommend this book
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2004
This book should be retitled "The growing pains of a whinging teenager". Who of us, as we grow to adulthood, has not had times when our fathers have been nuisances to us? We all have to deal with it and get over it, look back with wisdom (hopefully) and see our own faults too. Unfortunately the author (who thinks a famous father automatically makes the son famous) uses this book to go over the problems he had with Eric Morcambe (annoyingly referred to as EM throughout the text). The priveliged lifestyle of the son bemoaning his lot grinds down the reader. Since conflict with parents during teen years is not a new subject, this book has little to offer, except that the target is Eric Morcambe. Not one for Morecambe and Wise fans or anyone seeking insight into the man. Leave this one on the shelf!
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
John Eric Morecambe was a classic, an all time hero. He was a workaholic, didn't know when or how to stop. From the first moment of waking up in the Mornings to the last thing at Night he was on the go all of the time and having this book in my collection is an Extremly nice momentum of a real saint of mine, one I will treasure for ever and especially the photographs. There were quite a number of comedians in the 60s and early 70s, but no one could ever compare to Morecambe and Wise and a quick glance through this book brings back loads of good memories and all the laughter they shared together. Eric was a lifelong friend of Ernie's, meeting at a very early age.
The Autobiography was written by Eric Morecambe's son Gary, whom obviously had loads of pride for his dad, but I can also sense that there was a lot of hurt at the same time. But after reading the book, I too was very disappointed in this just like everyone else, I thought it would be all about Eric and his life as it states on the cover 'ERIC MORECAMBE'
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2010
I found it quite annoying that Gary constantly referred to his father,the great Eric Morecambe as EM instead of dad.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2014
Written as much for Gary Morecambe as it is about Eric Morecambe. An enjoyable read with some 'inside info' about the man and the comic, who were almost interchangeable. EM as he is usually referred to in the book was a man who did not take himself too seriously. He was a family man at heart, who gave his best for everybody. I enjoyed it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2013
I thought that as the book was written by his son it would give more of an insight into the life of Eric Morcambe however, the book seemed to be more about Gary, and whilst he says that he isn't moaning it came across to me that this was what he was doing throughout the book, there was more about Gary's life & career than Eric's.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)