Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars
14
3.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 March 2005
For anyone who watches the BBC show, this is a good companion to have as it puts flesh on the bones of the TV series. For anyone who hasn't seen the show it is still a good read. There is anything particularly new in the business principles presented but what is refreshing is the way that Sir Alan Sugar presents the information. It is direct and to the point. There is no fluff. Many business books are a chore to read. This book has practical information presented in bite sized pieces which are very easy to digest.
I've given the book 4 stars, with 1 star taken away for quite a number of typographical errors scattered throughout. It's obvious the book was hurried out to coincide with the beginning of the TV show.
0Comment| 54 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2006
If you read the previous book from The Apprentice, then the initial thing you'll notice about this one is that it is very similar for the first section of the book.
The opinions and thoughts of Sir Alan have basically been copied from the original book to this one, with a few tweaks here and there.
For me this was fine as I am a big fan of the series, and also find that if I read things a few times over I take them in better.
The main difference with this book is the review of the tasks from the last series. Sir Alan gives his thoughts on the outcome from each task, and expresses his opinions on various aspects of each task. There is also an overview of the candidates from the new series.
If like me you love 'The Apprentice', and you are happy to read the same thing again, this book is for you. If however you are looking for some brand new advice and new detail of personal experience from Sir Alan, there really isn't much in here so it might be what you want.
0Comment| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2014
Bought this after the 1st series of the apprentice - my that was a while ago! It was when the series was really business focused and a lot less dramatic. Really useful and insightful book with quick practical tips. Definately not written by Alan Sugar though.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2005
I read this over a few days during lunch and on the whole it is an interesting read.
The book provides some additional background to the competitors and a few bucketloads of Alan's business techniques thrown in for good measure.
I'm looking forward to the next series!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2014
He only talks about the first 2 seasons about the Apprentice, which is not blamable, but I expected him to update it and make re-releases once the other seasons where released, Donald Trump is better.
I think you should go buy the book "The way I see it" it has a more indepth knowledge or Sir Alan Sugar's thoughts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2008
A good wholesome self-help book for budding entrepreneurs, delivered in "Sir Alan's" straightforward, frank style. Mentions the TV series, but only in passing, really. The sketchy biographies of the candidates is about all there is, and when it was published it seems that the series hadn't yet been fully broadcast; so you don't find out who the winner was, or how they won it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2009
Although I couldn't select another shipping method than 60 days, the product arrived in 2 weeks time, in good conditions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2006
Sweet as a nut, me old sunshine. This is an excellent book to accompany his Trump trumping TV show 'The Scorcerer's Apprentice'. Sir Alan doesn't mince his words on the telly or in the book - if you're sh-t, he'll tramp all over you and try to scrape you off with a rag and some hot soapy water. If you're good though, he might think of giving you a job in his technology empire. I speak from a little experience here myself. I used to work for Sir Alan, indirectly, in Dixons. I did pretty well for myself, thank you very much, punting some of his PC stuff and was nicely rewarded - I got a Christmas card from Amstrad with 'keep up the good work, Alan' inside. Although it was a photostat, it certainly looked like his handwriting and it's nice that he thinks of everyone. Anyway, this book is great so you also keep up the good work, Sir Alan.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2006
A book with detail, giving self belief that anything is possible if you can put your mind to it. Gives a good account on how to be successful in business.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2015
Worth the money - safe delivery - excellent product tie in.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)