Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
16


on 7 April 2016
If you're looking for an example of a typical, British TV script layout, this isn't the book for you. Since Gervais and Merchant direct what they write, they don't need to stick to the standard format. There's an accepted format for writers that is accepted by producers and directors, and it isn't in this book because they were writing with themselves in mind for directing, if that makes sense. However, as a fan of the show, this book is enjoyable and gives you a bit of insight into their particular writing process.
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 April 2018
Ricky Gervais can do no wrong in my eyes. If I was still young enough to have babies, I would have his
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2016
What's not to like...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 June 2016
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 July 2011
I use this material for teaching English and it is quite useful. The scripts are accurate representations of colloquial English.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 May 2015
very useful, exactly what I needed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 February 2013
One of the funniest things on TV in years. Ricky Gervais and his team are comic genius in this. Bring it back!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 September 2015
Brilliant - really enjoying this. Photos are great too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 December 2015
Really good value for money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 August 2007
My only problem with The Office script books is that they don't read like actual scripts so much as word for word, action for action, perfect transcriptions of the events in the show. Reading these really is like reading a description of each episode for people not allowed to own televisions. Personally I would have preferred the genuine original scripts (or outlines - I understand much of The Office is improvised), which would surely differ slightly from the TV show and could give insights into how actors had improvised or interpreted stage directions.

I do understand though that this isn't what the fans of The Office would have wanted or expected from a scripts book, and that the book was only profitable as a reference for obsessives at the time The Office took the UK by storm. Still, it felt like a missed opportunity.

However, there is some fantastic extra material in here that you wouldn't get with a standard script, such as original emails between Brent and the TV company making the documentary, as well as a lot of colour pictures and music for some of Brent's songs in the show.

It was a tough call between three and four stars, because I can see at whom these books have been aimed and I appreciate that whoever has put them together has done a great job. I just don't really see the point of releasing the "scripts" if they're 100% identical to the show to the extent of such detailed directions that they simply must have been retroactively constructed from the programme as aired.
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)