Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
56
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 December 2005
This book is really good for knocking up cheap and simple after work suppers. All of the recipes are straightforward and use simple and readily available ingredients. There are loads of inventive uses for tinned tuna, eggs, potatoes etc. that taste really good, not cheap. Only quibble would be the recipes aren't always madly healthy - lots of cheese and carbs - but definitely a book worth buying for anyone trying to watch thier pennies.
11 comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I love this book - it's smaller than A5 sized, every recipe fits onto 1 page, is broken down into only 3 steps AND has a colour picture opposite. The ingredients and instructions are clear and it's helpful to have preparation times; a good percentage are relatively quick to prepare. You can't go wrong at this price, even if you only like a few of the recipes!
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2006
This book was a godsend to me when i first moved to London from "up north" – suddenly everything was about double the price and i had to get used to eating on a budget!! Some of the resipes do use slightly odd ingredients, some of which work excellently (herb and garlic philadelphia with milk to make a pasta sauce) and some of which aren't so good (crisps as a topping for pasta bake), but overall, everything that i ahve tried from it so far has been tasty and interesting. I especially recommend the red pepper chicken, the creamy pesto rice cake and the chicken and tarragon dauphinoise. It shows you that you can still have an interesting and varied diet and makes good use of store cupboard ingredients like tinned tuna and frozen staples such as peas.
0Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2006
This is the kind of recipe book I like. Picture of every recipe and easy to follow recipes. Its a small book (about half A5 size), so won't take up much room on your recipe book shelf. The recipes themselves aren't all that healthy, but they aren't pretentious and all the family should enjoy them!
My only comment is that i am not sure that the recipes can be considered 'cheap'. I fortunatley have a very well stocked store cupboard, and therefore probably can do these meals cheaply. For example, a few recipes require pesto, or creme fraiche and then things like red wine vinegar, and a variety of herbs and spices etc. Not cheap if you don't have that stuff in your cupboard!
But don't let that put you off - I use this book constantly!
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2009
Forget the celeb cookbooks, if you are new to cooking these are the ones to go for! Easy to follow recipes with ingredients you can get in the supermarket instead of trekking round specialist shops, since I've got 5 of these for Christmas my family has never eaten so well! Favourite recipes so far include Lamb Chop and Chip Bake and Herby Pasta with Peas and Bacon. A handy little sized format means you can pop the book in your handbag and then decide what's for tea when you get to the supermarket! You won't be overwhelmed the recipes or the ingredients, which gives you the confidence that you'll be able to produce something vaguely resembling the lovely full colour picture! Another thing is that a lot of these recipes are cooked in one pan or tray baked, which means less washing up - result!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2007
i love everything about this book. clear text, good pictures, simple instructions. deliciouse food! i love to be able to prepare fresh healthy food for my family but so many recipe books are filled with fussy pricy ingredients. this book has many meals that usually feed all four of us for well under five pounds.
my favourites are the tuna pasta bake (made with condensed mushroom soup) and the lamb and date casserole(yum!). but i have tried and loved many others. a brilliant book that will have you feeding the family good food much cheaper than your high fat low nutrtion takeaway or ready meals.

this book also introduced me to the low price tasty delights of chick peas and chicken thighs.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2007
This is a fabuluos cookery book, especially if you enjoy cooking new things but can't particularly afford all of those exotic ingredients. It allows you to make amazing food with the simplest of ingredients.

Being a student (who prefers not to eat beans on toast every night), I have found this book a lot more useful than those specifically designed for students (who's reipes include the likes of making a tomato soup using.... a can of tomato soup).

Very very easy to use and as I've said, AMAZING FOOD!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2009
Bought this to reduce our weekly food bill in the current tough times and am really impressed with the recipes. All that I've tried have been delicious and economical. I have found some are a little high in calories, but I substitute low fat versions of ingredients instead (i.e. low fat creme fraiche, etc). Great purchase.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 28 May 2013
I have a certain sympathy with the 1 star reviews. It would be fair to say that some of these recipes are not particularly cheap to make for someone on a tight budget - one recipe calls for gorgonzola, another involves half a kilo of cod. That said, there are plenty of recipes involving cheap ingredients such as chicken thighs with sweet onions, peanut noodles with pork, spicy sausage pasta, herby pasta with peas & bacon, mushroom & tuna spaghetti, various tarts, a nice pork meatloaf, lemon & honey chicken, one pot lamb with rice (using cheap shoulder meat). My favourite has to be the very simple lemon curd brulée.

It has to be said that the recipes aren't the most exciting, although the pesto rice cake was new to me. I was somewhat surprised that there aren't many recipes based on pulses as these are very cheap and nutritious. There is also very little suitable for vegetarians although some recipes could be easily adapted. It is helpful that many recipes involve store cupboard staples like pasta, canned fish, or frozen peas.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2009
Just like Binglet, I got given this little gem of a recipe book as a stocking filler for Christmas. Since then it's sidelined all my 'proper' cookery books. It's just full of meals that are SO easy to make, all with unpretentious ingredients and they all look really tasty, though as others have pointed out, not necessarly all for those watching their weight (that said there is a rudimentary calorific / nutritional breakdown at the end of each recipe if you're interested).

Recommended.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)