Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 25 February 2009
This is a good book and value for money. So far all the recipes I have used have come out as they should, clear instructions and good photos help. If you are new to this kind of cooking then you cant really go far wrong. My only complaint is that we are trying to eat more healthily and some recipes are very high in fat or have huge quantities of cheese so if you are trying to be healthy then look closely at the calorie information.
0Comment| 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2009
This little book is fantastic, packed with fab, quick, easy and new ideas. Good nosh, really quick and easy, good instructions, both exciting and practical ingredients. There is not much more to say about this other than just buy it. You will not regret it and it costs so little. Loads of fab pictures. I think its compact size is great too-can take it anywhere-for me as a shift worker with short breaks - this is ideal for a good uick, exciting nutritious nosh at work, camping, self catering etc.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2012
Has some lovely pictures that really draw you in to wanting to make these dishes =] Wish there were more puddings in it, though. But the puddings do look good! :D This book really lays out the instructions simply in a 3 point step-by-step guide. Can't wait to make some of these with my bf as I'm vegetarian and he's not. We can easily change the meals and put some meat products in so that we both enjoy it =]
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2015
Excellent book for a beginner & the long standing veggie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Brilliant wally proof recipes, quick simple delicious and nutritious. 👍🏼
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2007
How many times have you bought a cookbook, full of good intentions to try something new, only to find that each recipe requires fifty ingredients, the majority of which are either unheard of or unobtainable. Not with this little gem of a book! Most of the recipes have only a few ingredients, the majority of which are available in even the most sparcely populated cupboards. And they dont take hours to prepare or cook either. I have tried many of the recipes and to date not one has turned out wrong. It's most satisfying for non-professionals like me to turn out a dish that looks exactly as it does in the (particularly enticing) photograph. In fact every one of the books in this series is a total must-have. Well done Good Food!
0Comment| 108 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2011
I am so disappointed with this book. Being as it's from the Good Food range I had high hopes for it. But the recipes are mostly just so unhealthy! One of the recipes in the 'Light Meals' Section had over 900 calories and 72g of Saturated fat! In what way is that a light meal?! Many of the recipes are fried in butter or oil,most of them use Cheese or eggs for protein, not many use tofu. I know other reviewers have said similar things but I gave this book the benefit of the doubt. The only positive thing I can say is that I'm sure the meals will taste nice, and if your waistline isn't an issue then it's fine! There are also a handful of lower calorie/sat fat meals in there. You could also substitute some of the higher fat ingredients with healthier alternatives. It has opened my eyes to the fact that vegetarian doesn't always equal healthy!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2009
I have had to take over preparing and cooking food because my wife suffers from the effects of a couple of strokes and can no longer cook or remember what to do. I have been trying out some books that should help me but following a suggestion from my daughter I tried various BBC "Good Food" books and found them all to be very interesting and helpful. In this book recipes etc are simple and easy to use so much so I think anyone would find them helpful. They are easy to follow and understand and have simple recipes with good photos showing you what you can achieve.
22 Comments| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 27 April 2012
Vegetarians often complain that they can have difficulty finding sufficiently different, interesting recipes when they are cooking for themselves, and the problem can be made even worse if they are eating out at the home of a non-vegetarian couple. The usual tired standbys often come out and there is only so much salad or a vegetable tart that one can take!
Here, in another of their usually high-quality little books, 101 different "GoodFood" vegetarian dishes are presented with the hope of providing a little variety and new thinking for vegetarians and, of course, for non-vegetarians alike who will have a meat-free dish.
As usual each recipe is easy-to-follow and well laid out and, on the facing page, a luxurious full colour picture of the finished article for inspiration (and confidence-building) purposes.
Recipes are split into six distinct sections from starters and snacks, light meals and pasta/rice dishes through to mains, dairy-free dishes and deserts. All typical signposting and a good index is provided to make the book easy to access and refer to.
The dishes are not ostentatious or something only a three Michelin star chef could prepare. All are easily prepared in a home kitchen yet many of the recipes could equally grace the table of a quality restaurant, so hopefully there will be something to inspire your family and friends and maybe convert the misapprehension that vegetarian food needs to be boring or just the same old green things rearranged on a plate.
It has even given this sometimes cynical, meat-eating reviewer, a few dishes to voluntarily wish to try!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2005
I love this book. Compact, high quality photos for each recipie, and all quick, easy, and tasty to make. Practical and healthy for simple evening cooking, with enough ideas to also produce a 3-course effort.
As it says on the tin, the book offers 101 recipies, which leaves you wanting more. However, this is a minor quibble, as it was definitely value-for-money.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)