Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
34
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£2.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 2 September 2006
Older or more competent readers may initially be put off of the idea of what is essentially a book written for people who don't like reading (100 pages of very large type in the `Quick Reads' series) but `I Am A Dalek' is actually far more enjoyable than many of the longer young-audience hardback's published in the wake of the new Doctor Who series. The book reads very much in the style of the new television series one-episode stories: very fast moving and completely shorn of fat. The story is something of a variation from that of the TV story `Dalek': in that story Rose was responsible for transferring some of the `human factor' into a Dalek, here we have a human who is taken over by the Dalek factor. There's also plenty of genuine Dalek action, including the bizarre concept of a gunless Dalek causing mayhem only with it's `sink plunger' arm, and some nice humorous moments. The only slight problem I had with the book is the rather unnecessary coda, which is a bit of a cheat and undoes a previously powerful moment earlier in the book. Still, this is good fun, and if you like the fast and breezy nature of the new television series you'll find this a perfect read.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2006
My 4 year old daughter loves Doctor Who, unfortunately most of the books out there are just a bit too old for her yet and too long. This was perfect, we managed to read a chapter a night before bed and it didn't take too long to get through it. This is her first book with chapters in and she thought it was fantastic. I just wish there were more like this.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
As part of the small range of the "Quick Read" books, I thought that this one would be a fine addition to the collection. After reading the plot synopsis and buying the book, I thought it was a good way to spend a couple of days reading.

This story is written by Gareth Roberts, who is known to prefer the Doctor Who stories that are set on Earth. Anyone reading this book can tell that. The detail that is put into everyday elements of our basic human lives is brilliant, and the reader can relate with it easily. When the TARDIS lands down in Southern England, the Doctor and Rose are horrified when they see a Dalek appear on an ancient mural. It is later revealed that there really is a Dalek, albeit an empty casing that has laid under the Earth for thousands of years.

When a young woman is then hit by a vehicle, the two events may not seem as seperate as some may think. Without spoiling the plot, it is nice seeing how the pieces slot into place and leading to a single Dalek causing havoc for the local area. It is also a completely different way of resolving the problem in comparison to previous stories. All I'll say is that Gareth Roberts has used what he writes about best to stop the Dalek decimating everything.

In comparison, I finished the book in two days and I thought it was a great read and one that I would reccomend to any Doctor Who fan!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2006
Wow! I didn't expect much from a quick read, but this is simply a fantastic read. The quick reads have been designed to get people into reading books and this should do just that. 30 years ago it was Terrance Dicks Target Dr Who novels that taught me to read and I hope this does the same for this generation.

This could easily be 1 part story from Season 2 with the 10th Dr. His character is captured excellently here as is Rose. The Dalek is as evil and tricksy as they have ever been if not more so. Here it briefly explores their hell bent desire to keep the Dalek race alive at what ever cost.

Brillant book and at this price you can't go wrong. Come on lets have another one!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2015
A great story I hope Gareth Roberts will write for doctor who again I enjoyed his TV episode dalekwhen doctor who came back hopefully it will still be around and to celebrate its 100 anniversary I am sure it willbe
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2006
I have to in some ways agree with the people that think that Dr Who books are not very well written. I've read several and enjoyed them (as a Dr Who fan) but wouldn't recommend them to anyone else unless thye were as interested as I am. But this short story is different. Anyone who's just enjoyed dipping into the recent TV series should try this very short read. Reading it I got completely engaged for the duration (you'll probably read it in one sitting) and it was strangely like watching a TV episode, except almost better because I imagined all the events and it was really cool. The story is a typical kind of doctor who one but it's refreshing to read it rather than watch it for a change.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon 10 January 2014
This is one of the Quick Reads series of Doctor Who novels, and features the Tenth Doctor (as portrayed by David Tennant) with Rose. Just a little over 100 pages long, this quick read is definitely that; but it's a great story.

The Doctor and Rose land on the Moon; only it's not the Moon, and the Tardis is trying to tell the Doctor something. Not far away, an archaeological dig has found something quite wrong in some Roman ruins. And that's only the beginning.

This is a really good story, full of great Doctor Who action and characters, and of course Daleks. Definitely recommended.
66 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2012
This book was an easy read that occupied a couple of hours. It fealt right-the Doctor and Rose the same as on the television series. Sometimes books of this type do not feal right with the characters having the right names but personality or actions a bit off. this book hit the right tone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Half the length of the usual doctor who novels, and a little better than some of them as a result in presenting a story that could be done on television. The tenth doctor gets his first encounter with the daleks - and remember, he's a no second chances guy - and action ensues.

A very easy read and a very enjoyable one. The supporting cast are nicely sketched, and there are strong emotional moments that make you feel for them. Also look out for the best way to deal with a dalek since the van in dalek invasion of earth!

A nice little book, and well worth reading if you can't wait for the next tv episode
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2016
This book is a great read,, a great story line, the Doctor and Rose doing different things but ending up together on the same thing. Any Doctor who fan or someone just meeting the world of the Doctor will love this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.