Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 19 July 2017
I love this doctor who story. I can't put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 August 2016
A good read with a twist at the end that only Dr Who can do. Its a good story. I would recommend this especially if you like the Dr and Rose stories.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 March 2015
OK
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 July 2013
Great CD for any Dr Who fan, our son loves it and has listened to it several times, especially great on long car journeys, we also have it on sons MP3.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 27 January 2015
This is a review of the novel, not the audio reading of the novelisation.

Justin Richards is a prolific author, and a prolific author of Doctor Who novels. This story features the Tenth Doctor (as played on tv by David Tennant) and captures his incarnation very well. (I don’t know why, but the hardback edition I read had the image of the Doctor on the cover, but not Rose; yet Amazon’s images of the audiobook and novel have the images of both of them – odd.)

The Doctor and Rose are having problems with the Tardis; it seems to be caught up in some kind of field generated by an electromagnetic pulse. Managing to open the doors manually, they expect to find themselves in a radiation-soaked wasteland. Instead, they find themselves on a planet called Starfall, a world where modern technology doesn’t work, and where the inhabitants of Starfall, smugglers, crooks and traders, make a living around the zone of electromagnetic gravitation. The man in charge is Drel McCavity, and the Doctor finds himself involved in his schemes when he has to try and find a way to get the Tardis working again. Meanwhile, people are dying – mysteriously, and horribly.

This is a really good story, and captures the Tenth Doctor and Rose well; it utilises their characters admirably and the story is interesting. While I’m not really one for pirate stories (which is why I had hesitated before reading this one) it really didn’t jar on the story, and indeed added to the atmosphere and to the culture of the ultimate storyline. There were a couple of lines where the Doctor’s ‘wit’ did seem a bit forced into the story, but apart form that the whole novel read really well. This is not hard-core science-fiction; what it is, is an entertaining and very readable and enjoyable Doctor Who novel.
1212 Comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 23 February 2015
The Tenth Doctor stops the TARDIS in space to take a reading, and suddenly everything stops working, and they have to make a forced landing on a planet in the back of beyond where technology simply does not work. The TARDIS is badly damaged and cannot repair herself until she is moved outside the planet's sphere of influence, but how? Here begins a chain of events that lead the Doctor and Rose to join forces with an unlikely crew to search for the lost pirate and his treasure.....and the fabled resurrection casket.

This is basically treasure island in space, but with a few surprising space-age twists. David Tennant is the narrator, and as always his narration and characterisation are spot on. As an added extra is a fascinating interview with the author of this story, Justin Richards, who interestingly mentions in passing exactly how he feels about the way this story had been narrated.

This is a great story, well constructed, and regardless of how you feel about the basic Treasure Island premise, it is very enjoyable and in my opinion well worth the price, A solid addition to the tenth Doctor audio collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 October 2014
A wonderful and entertaining adventure of Murdering Pirates..and their leader Hamlek Glint..a young boy..who wants adventure and The Doctor and Rose been thrown into it..Full of action and several twists to this tale..Justin Richards again delivers..The Doctor and Rose are written spot on and as you read you can hear David Tennant and Billie Pipper actually say the dialogue...The twists come half way through..With Sally not being as she appears to be and The Resurrection Casket not being what you think..The biggest twist and surprise is the young boy Jimm.. and you have a reluctant monster that is Kevin that is forced to murder against its will..But The Doctor is there to help both..The story flows very well and you get drawn into the adventure..A big recommendation to every Doctor Who fan..I enjoyed it..hope you do to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEHALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERon 16 February 2012
NOTE this is a review of the Audio Book only.

The great David Tennant reads this audio book and my how we do miss him from the TV series.
The book features the old team of the Doctor and Rose and
Justin Richards has wriiten a fine story and David Tennant more than adds to the narration.
He really brings the book and plot to life.

The story is enjoyable. If you're Dr Who fan on audio you will not be disappointed.
I could prdeict the ending a mile off but don't let that fool you it is such an enjoyable trip geting there helped by Tennants wondeful telling of the tale.

A word of warning.
This book in this format was released by the Radio Times as a freebie back in 2008. It was issued as a two parter on two seprate discs.
The story is still the same and read by David Tennant but the cheepo free version has no music so the retail version seems to be the superior BUT of course this does mean that there are an awful lot of copies of the Freebi version floating around and usually found in the 'make a donation box in your local charity stores so you may want to check those out first.
But you should get a good price on this music included version simply because it has been released in the free format.

Enjoy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 April 2013
Starfall - a world on the edge, where crooks and smugglers hide in the gloomy shadows and modern technology refuses to work. And that includes the TARDIS. The pioneers who used to be drawn by the hope of making a fortune from the mines can find easier picking elsewhere. But they still come for the romance of it, or old-fashioned organic mining. Or in the hope of finding the lost treasure of Hamlek Glint - scourge of the spaceways, privateer, adventurer, bandit.

Will the TARDIS ever work again? Is Glint's lost treasure waiting to be found? And does the fabled Resurrection Casket, the key to eternal life, really exist? With the help of new friends, and to the horror of new enemies, the Doctor and Rose aim to find out.

Featuring the Tenth Doctor and Rose as played by David Tennant and Billie Piper in the acclaimed Doctor Who series from BBC Television.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 March 2007
The TV tie-in book series continues from where the Ninth Doctor picks up with the Tenth Doctors latest batch of books. One of the things that is important for a Who fan is that the Doctor in question is written in character. Over the years a few writers haven't quite pulled it off and the reader has been left with 'auto doc' who comes over as a mixture of the writers favourite Doctor and the one they are attempting to write. However I can say despite the trappings of the book being so similar to the previous Doctor Justin Richards has nailed David Tennants character perfectly.

The book places The Doctor and Rose in a world of space pirates that feels a bit final fantasyesque. The plot soon kicks in and it's off on a treasure hunt. As expected in a Justin Richards book there's a few plot twists some of which are easily worked out but he sneaked a few in that got past me. Also there's a good lot of gags in here which made me smile and is an achievement considering I'm a bit of a grumpy sod (a clue for one that may pass over the kids heads is 'Bruce Foxton' I'll say no more).

I preferred the first half of the book where it threatened to become a better read than it eventually was but I can't see many people not enjoying it as its a fun enough read. The last half does get a bit bogged down as characters are chased down corridors and hide behind snooker tables. Also it doesn't know when to end and in all honesty could have ended a good 30 pages earlier and made a tighter read. As such it's a good read but the early bits promised something better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse