Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more



on 11 March 2016
really good book/quick delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 May 2014
Not exactly the best Dalek story, but you can do alot worse. The only major issues I had in this story was Peel re-writing Remembrance of the Daleks' ending.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 May 2012
A great story which continues on from the last classic dalek story, remembrance of the daleks, so it's helpful if you have watched remembrance of the daleks. Davros's pod has been discovered, and is lying in place as bait for the Doctor. It turns out that Skaro wasn't blown up by the Hand of Omega, in fact it was a duplicate world that the Doctor believed he had destroyed, created by the Dalek Prime and it's forces. Davros is standing trial for his crimes agaisnt the daleks, creating opposing factions and destroying Skaro (duplicate world) with it's sun. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and it is a fantastic story.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 7 May 2016
This is an original Doctor Who novel, first published in 1997, so during the hiatus of the tv series, and the first Dalek novel to be published in that period. The story was written by John Peel, an author of quite a few Doctor Who novels (Target novelisations, and original novels), and the main one to write for the Daleks, apparently because Terry Nation’s agents demanded such a high percentage of an author’s fees for using the Daleks in novels.

War of the Daleks, and a follow-on book Legacy of the Daleks, are full-length Dalek novels which have caused some controversy among fans as they rather extensively rewrite Dalek history as depicted in the tv series, particularly that following on from the 1988 serial Remembrance of the Daleks. This was evidently done to bring the Dalek timeline more into line with the vision of Terry Nation for the Daleks.

However that may be, as a standalone novel, I found it a good read. The story involves the Eighth Doctor travelling with Sam, an original companion for the Eighth Doctor novels, a teenage girl from Earth that the Doctor first meets in in 1997.

The prologue to the book features a group of soldiers fighting what they know is a desperate battle against a force of Daleks. The action then moves to the Tardis, where the Doctor is making some repairs to components, when the Tardis, with the Doctor and Sam on board, is caught up in a salvage ship’s sweep; a ship that has already caught some interesting debris from the remains of an earlier battle, including a pod. But the pod is of interest to others, as well, and the Doctor and Sam soon find themselves caught up in the ongoing struggle between the Daleks and the Thals.

This story does offer a different outcome to the story that we saw on tv, Remembrance of the Daleks, where the Seventh Doctor tricks Davros into destroying Skaro. Here, there is another reason for why the outcome is different to what the Doctor believes it to have been, and it revolves around the infighting between the different Dalek factions. Whether or not a reader, or a Doctor Who fan consider the book canon is an individual choice, and I found the story itself interesting enough to be an entirely enjoyable read, with lots of action, a broad vista, and a large cast of interesting characters.
22 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 7 May 2016
This is an original Doctor Who novel, first published in 1997, so during the hiatus of the tv series, and the first Dalek novel to be published in that period. The story was written by John Peel, an author of quite a few Doctor Who novels (Target novelisations, and original novels), and the main one to write for the Daleks, apparently because Terry Nation’s agents demanded such a high percentage of an author’s fees for using the Daleks in novels.

War of the Daleks, and a follow-on book Legacy of the Daleks, are full-length Dalek novels which have caused some controversy among fans as they rather extensively rewrite Dalek history as depicted in the tv series, particularly that following on from the 1988 serial Remembrance of the Daleks. This was evidently done to bring the Dalek timeline more into line with the vision of Terry Nation for the Daleks.

However that may be, as a standalone novel, I found it a good read. The story involves the Eighth Doctor travelling with Sam, an original companion for the Eighth Doctor novels, a teenage girl from Earth that the Doctor first meets in in 1997.

The prologue to the book features a group of soldiers fighting what they know is a desperate battle against a force of Daleks. The action then moves to the Tardis, where the Doctor is making some repairs to components, when the Tardis, with the Doctor and Sam on board, is caught up in a salvage ship’s sweep; a ship that has already caught some interesting debris from the remains of an earlier battle, including a pod. But the pod is of interest to others, as well, and the Doctor and Sam soon find themselves caught up in the ongoing struggle between the Daleks and the Thals.

This story does offer a different outcome to the story that we saw on tv, Remembrance of the Daleks, where the Seventh Doctor tricks Davros into destroying Skaro. Here, there is another reason for why the outcome is different to what the Doctor believes it to have been, and it revolves around the infighting between the different Dalek factions. Whether or not a reader, or a Doctor Who fan consider the book canon is an individual choice, and I found the story itself interesting enough to be an entirely enjoyable read, with lots of action, a broad vista, and a large cast of interesting characters.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 7 May 2016
This is an original Doctor Who novel, first published in 1997, so during the hiatus of the tv series, and the first Dalek novel to be published in that period. The story was written by John Peel, an author of quite a few Doctor Who novels (Target novelisations, and original novels), and the main one to write for the Daleks, apparently because Terry Nation’s agents demanded such a high percentage of an author’s fees for using the Daleks in novels.

War of the Daleks, and a follow-on book Legacy of the Daleks, are full-length Dalek novels which have caused some controversy among fans as they rather extensively rewrite Dalek history as depicted in the tv series, particularly that following on from the 1988 serial Remembrance of the Daleks. This was evidently done to bring the Dalek timeline more into line with the vision of Terry Nation for the Daleks.

However that may be, as a standalone novel, I found it a good read. The story involves the Eighth Doctor travelling with Sam, an original companion for the Eighth Doctor novels, a teenage girl from Earth that the Doctor first meets in in 1997.

The prologue to the book features a group of soldiers fighting what they know is a desperate battle against a force of Daleks. The action then moves to the Tardis, where the Doctor is making some repairs to components, when the Tardis, with the Doctor and Sam on board, is caught up in a salvage ship’s sweep; a ship that has already caught some interesting debris from the remains of an earlier battle, including a pod. But the pod is of interest to others, as well, and the Doctor and Sam soon find themselves caught up in the ongoing struggle between the Daleks and the Thals.

This story does offer a different outcome to the story that we saw on tv, Remembrance of the Daleks, where the Seventh Doctor tricks Davros into destroying Skaro. Here, there is another reason for why the outcome is different to what the Doctor believes it to have been, and it revolves around the infighting between the different Dalek factions. Whether or not a reader, or a Doctor Who fan consider the book canon is an individual choice, and I found the story itself interesting enough to be an entirely enjoyable read, with lots of action, a broad vista, and a large cast of interesting characters.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 September 2001
A new Dalek adventure should have been great, but there's very little to get excited about here. It's slow, slow, slow all the way. Halfway through and Sam and the Doctor are still stuck on a spacecraft doing nothing slowly and the Daleks hardly get to do any exterminating or evil doing. The Thals were boring too. The big twist in the plot ends up so confusing and far-fetched that it just can't be taken seriously. Why not have the Daleks simply reclaim a new planet? After all, it worked ok for the Cybermen. Overall a very tedious read, with little to recommend it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 January 2003
I have about 20 pages left of this book to read and I have enjoyed every minute of it. I personally think this is a solid Dr Who story which connects many Dalek stories together to show a progression of the Dalek race. As much as I think Davros was a waste after Genesis of the Daleks the book makes his sometimes disjointed appearances make sense as the big picture evolves. The main action may well take place towards the end of the book but how many times did the TV show wait until the final episode to really get started? I have really enjoyed the ride!
There have been times in the latter part of the TV series that the Daleks have seemed nothing but stooges to Davros, but War of the Daleks takes the ideas from Remembrance of the Daleks and runs with them, emphasising the divisions between Dalek ranks - being those loyal to Davros and those loyal to the Dalek Prime, hence the war. It is interesting to see Daleks starting to think for themselves again like in the good old days, and unlike some of the new range of Dr Who novels this story actually stays true to the TV version and doesn't seem like something completely different trying to compete with American sci-fi. If Big Finish make an audio version of War then I'll be the first to buy it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 December 2012
I have seriously mixed feelings about "War of the Daleks". Despite it being clunky, juvenile and containing the most pointless continuity rewrite in the history of science fiction, it's still the only BBC Doctor Who novel (with the exception of "The Infinity Doctors") that I've read more than once. It's a guilty pleasure, like Godzilla movies. Reading it, you know that it's dumb, but you just can't stop. At least, I can't.

Throughout the novel, John Peel does a great job of showing us how good it could have been, as he breaks up the main plot with small vignettes from the greater galaxy as it grapples with the Dalek threat. These are gripping stuff indeed, epic adventures against an implacable and ruthless foe. The opening scene, a vast battle between the Daleks and Thal special forces, is equally gripping and for some reason reminds me of many of the scenes in Heinlein's "Starship Troopers". If the book had continued along those lines, it would have been superb; miltary SF in the Doctor Who universe is something we really haven't seen before, and Peel infuses the battle scenes with great tension and drama, whether they be between the Daleks and lone security agents, custodial robots or Draconian starships. He proves that he certainly has the ability to write this kind of stuff well, which is why the direction he takes with the rest of the novel is so irritating.

In between the battle scenes, Peel manages to create some very interesting characters and then gives them very little to do. The Doctor, supposedly the hero of the story, literally does nothing to affect the plot at all throughout the entire book. Yes, he gets to solve problems, but it is plain that those problems are largely of no consequence and that most of the events of the novel would have occurred in exactly the same way were he present or not. Given that Peel's characterisation of the Doctor is extremely generic, I'm convinced the book would have been far better had it been written as a standalone book without the Doctor in it at all.

The biggest problem with the book occurs when the plot moves to Skaro, the Dalek homeworld. Since the Doctor blew it up in the TV episode "Remembrance of the Daleks", the fact that it still exists drives what is left of the plot. It's at this point that pretty much all the characters switch their brains off and Peel reveals the real reason the book was written in the first place; to undo the destruction of Skaro as seen on TV. Apparently the creator of the Daleks, Terry Nation, objected to the destruction of the Dalek homeworld, despite okaying it for broadcast (he had script approval and the ability to veto anything he didn't like), and Peel took it upon himself to "undo" that event. To do so, he concocts the most bizarre, convoluted, risky and ultimately pointless conspiracy I've ever come across, rewrites over a decade of Doctor Who history and makes both the Doctor and Davros (the mad scientist who first engineered the Daleks) look like complete idiots. When the book was first published, the sound of Dalek fans all over the world going "huh?" was almost deafening. After waiting years for a new Dalek adventure, to be presented with something so mediocre that showed the skeleton of the classic it could have been was almost too much to take.

And yet I keep re-reading it, almost as if I keep hoping that since the last time it'll have metamorphosed into the book it should have been. It's the literary equivalent of a dumb popcorn movie, complete with spectacular set pieces, implausible plot and dodgy acting. If I can keep my brain stunned into silence for the duration, I enjoy it. It's only when I start asking questions that I realise how bad this thing is. Still, if you - like me - love the Daleks and have been starved of new adventures for years, you could do worse than pick this up. Just don't say I didn't warn you.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 August 2004
This was one of the first original Doctor Who books that I bought. I thought that it was pure fun but also had some very serious elements that kept the pace fresh. It did tend to get a bit slow at certain points and the explantion for the return of Skaro contradicts the Seventh Doctor's plotting and planning but minor gripes aside I would recommend this as one to spend a bit of extra money on. Davros' character is realistic here and it gives the plot a greater forward drive then you would get from his character in Destiny of the Daleks. It's a pity that after the first ten BBC Who books that were fun like this, they started to go downhill.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse