Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
23
4.6 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 June 2000
This book is intended to accompany the television series of the same name and as such is not a "heavyweight" history of the war. It is by necessity brief and concise. However, what it does, it does very well indeed. There are a large number of one volume histories of the war available. These are the books to which most readers looking for an introduction to the Great War will look at first. However, many of these one volume histories, while still relevant as part of the war's historiography, argue views which are heavily influenced by personal politics and are not consistent with much of the excellent research which is being produced today, which is doing something to redress the balance in favour of the much maligned generals. One volume histories which fall into this category include, in my opinion the works of A.J.P. Taylor and B.H. Liddell-Hart, both of which are texts which frequently find their way into the hands of Great War virgins. As someone who falls very much into the camp that would like to look at the war more in terms of military, rather than social, history this book fills the gap in the one volume market nicely. The introduction also provides an excellent section dealing with the historiography of the war, which should be of further use to the novice enthusiast. If you're looking for a one volume history of the war, you could certainly do far worse than to get your sticky little hands on this. If you're looking for a book that deals with the specifics of any particular campaign or aspect of the war, this is not really for you. Also note that it does not deal with fronts other than the Western Front in any detail. Given the title however, I think it can be forgiven this! If you want a one volume introduction to the war which is written in a highly readable, enthusiastic style and which takes into account the latest research, this is the one for you. Try to see the TV series too, if you can. It's top notch. Incidentally, re one of the other reviews, Professor Holmes is now Professor of Security Studies at Cranfield University and is also (he certainly was, I believe he still is) Director, Reserve Forces with the British Army.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2017
The book was delivered a day before the scheduled date and was well protected as usual in Amazon packaging. The book was as described and my expectation of how it would be was vindicated. It was in excellent condition for a second hand book dating back a number of years.
Having only recently received it I have not read it yet but it was recommended to me by a friend and was also praised by a First World War Battle Field tour guide. I do note that the printing is on quality paper and all the maps of which there are many are clear and easy to read coupled with many evocative photographs and some colour plates and there is an extensive Further Reading list. From what I know of the author and having seen him as a presenter on TV and have seen in the book so far together with personal recommendations I would certainly recommend the book to those who are interested in the subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2017
This is a well informed book from an expert in his subject. It is well written if a bit heavy on facts. It may have accompanied a TV series. Richard Holmes's death was a great loss to scholarship on WW1.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2017
Excellent. Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2000
There has been plenty of time since the end of World War 1 for appraisals and only recently have they become more balanced and fair than the ones written before when hate was still in the hearts of many. Holmes book is a brilliant overview of the war written in a manner we have come to expect from this outstanding historian. That it differs so much from the quite trite TV series that it supports, says a lot about the medium.
This is not a detailed description of the war. Rather an overview and a outstandingly fair one. Not only does he carefully discuss the stance taken by many of his colleagues but he also explains things from the German point of view. For many people, World War 1 is some vague happening in the distant past. Few realise that it moulded this century and that we are still experiencing its effects. That interest in the war is increasing is only a good thing and modern fair books like this one are needed now.
As a starting point, one could do no better than Holmes book. My one grizzle is the lack of references.
His chapter on the generals will annoy anyone who still believes the Lions led by donkeys approach, a view thankfully now discredited. It is a fair, accurate and most plausible explanation of the role of the generals that goes a long way to explain why horrors like The Somme were perpetrated.
Frankly I can't wait for him to turn his attention to Gallipoli, that other ignored and vital war zone.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2017
This is an excellent book that followed the BBC tv series. An interesting, authoritative and at times extremely emotional story about the Western Front. Very accessible for those just getting into history as well. A very good book.
An Angel's Alternative
Cold Steel on the Rocks
We Are Cold Steel
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2012
Having just returned from an excellent coach visit to the Ypres Salient and the Somme I was interested in getting a wider perspective of the war on the Western Front. Alas this book provides a very detailed account of pretty well everything that moved there - I was looking for a more comprehensive overview. I knew that the author had been a guide on these tours and this book almost seemed like his notes. Its a pity and I made a mistake - his reputation describing battles on TV mislead me. Just wasn't the book I was looking for I'm afraid
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
But then, so are all of Richard Holmes' books. He was a great military historian, who saw service, understood the squaddie, and walked or rode over many military engagements to help him understand the military decisions made in times of conflict.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2013
A great description, without too much detail. A final chapter about the overall war putting the western front into perspective was very interesting. A sadly missed author.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2016
Holmes concentrates on the military history, as you might expect. Social and political details are outlined, but the focus is on battles and battle tactics. The text is clear and readable (without being as fluid as A.J.P. Taylor) but it is very hard to link the text with the maps. Maps are not indexed, so there is a lot of flipping through, and there is no grid on the maps, so it is often hard to locate a particular place among a cluster of names. Frustrating!

If Holmes wanted to rescue the generals from their reputation as heartless bunglers (the donkeys in Ludendorff's quip, "Lions led by donkeys"), he does a pretty poor job of it. The best he can offer is that there was no-one better available.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)