Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
273
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 May 2017
I love physics, but I got a C in GCSEs, and really that was just because of cosmology and black hole stuff. I just love understanding them without understanding the maths and stuff.
This will answer all your questions and don't be afraid if you get a little lost - download the audiobook, let the author explain it to you. He does a beautiful job.
Especially since there are parts I listen to five times before I get it.
But science is supposed to be a bit challenging, right?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2017
Although I received a degree in the same field as Hawking(many, many years ago) many of the topics he discusses in this book are still open questions, even in the field of cosmology. It is a pleasure to read some new ideas about the subject. What is not clear is how much of the book was contributed by Mlodinow, or was he simply a secretary(albeit one with special training!) to Hawking. All together an interesting book for anyone who ponders such questions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2017
Excellent book for anyone interested in science really informative and easy to read loved it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2017
Good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2017
good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2017
Poor relation to A Brief History of Time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2017
Im not a science guy by profession but I get what hes on about. Nice 1!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2011
If you are looking for a hardnosed work in the style of A brief history of Time or The Universe in a Nutshell, then this book is definitely not for you.However if you require an effective overview of our current understanding of reality and the universe with a human touch -then this volume may be just what you require.

The Grand Design delivers a succinct and cogent summary of string theory, supersymmetry and quantum mechanics, interspersed with anecdotes about the lives of key figures in the field, e.g. the drumming exploits of Feynman (as good as Brian Cox I wonder?) and the struggles of Faraday.

Central to the book is the concept of model determined realism and the notion that the attempt to develop a single theory of everything must be replaced with a series of overlapping theories known as M-theory which incorporates all the string theories and that of gravity, explaining the universe in the context of 11 dimensions and suggesting the quantum possibility of many universes each with their own apparent fundamental rules of nature - unique to their own model.

Frustratingly the notion of supersymmetry and its possible role in providing a quantum theory of supergravity is only briefly touched upon leaving the reader asking how the hunt for the Higgs Boson is related to this.

Recent discoveries of expansion in the universe due to an unknown repulsive force (dark matter?) and the resultant reintroduction of the cosmic constant to account for it are also not fully explored -but it does create the curiosity to find out more.So maybe this is job done for a book of this type!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2014
Stephen is a legend he is one of a rare breed that can not only see the world as it is, but can put it into words..highly recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2017
Hawking is one of my favourite writers, so I know the book is good even before I open the cover. What an amazing man"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)