Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
66
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 April 2017
Good condition, not on of his best books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2001
This is Lehane's first book, and what a devastatingly brilliant book it is too. It introduces us to Patrick Kenzie and Angela Gennaro and their private investigation business in their hometown of Boston. The Boston we get to see, though, is the lower working class and slum areas of town. This is a hardboiled thriller to the core. Patrick Kenzie is haunted by memories of his abusive father; Angie Gennaro is married to an abusive husband. Together they have a fantastic chemistry in which they can virtually read each other's minds.
Kenzie and Gennaro are hired by a local Senator to find a black cleaning woman who was in his employ until she disappeared with some important documents. The case is simple, find the woman and return the documents. The woman is found, but from this point on, things start to go wrong, and it's clear that Kenzie and Gennaro haven't been told the whole story. They soon find themselves caught up in a gangland war where survival is looking less and less likely.
The dialogue is witty and sharp, the story is very well paced and the characters are very believable and all too real-life. I have read all the other Kenzie-Gennaro books before this one (shame on me for reading this out of order) and rate it very highly in comparison. In actual fact, it would have been of great benefit if I had have read this book first as it puts into perspective events that occur in the later books.
11 Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2009
This was Lehane's first novel and, as the book introduces his private investigators Patrick Kenzie and Angela Gennaro, it also became the start of a series. It therefore almost makes sense to start reading Lehane here because readers who come at this book backwards, having first read Mystic River, will probably be slightly disappointed because Mystic River is a much more developed and substantial read.

However, whilst 'A Drink Before The War' is undoubtedly the work of a writer flexing his muscles for bigger and better things to come, it is also worth reading on its own terms because it is a pacey and entertaining thriller with a strong sense of place and character and, although it won't fulfil, it certainly won't disappoint.

In short, this is a very tasty snack rather than a sustaining meal. An undemanding but excellent page turner. Great for a long lazy day and recommended on that basis.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 13 September 2003
To find a great mystery writer is akin to a great bottle of wine for me. Dennis Lehane is one of the best mystery writers around. His stories center around Boston and South Boston is the neighborhood. In "A Drink Before the War" we meet Patrick Kenzie and Anglea Gennaro- a private detective team. Both are locked into their own mysteries- that of abvuse- Patick abuse from his father, a powerful man in his own right. And Angela abuse from her husband. The hint of a relationship is there, but it is subtle and nothing is out in the open.
This mystery opens with a cleaning woman who has stolen papers from an important Boston politico. She asks for assistance and as the storyline deepens- race relations between black and white come to the fore. The streets of Boston are explored and explained. There is violence in this mystery and some of it is not pleasant but somehow opens the mystery to deeper understanding. The writing is superb. This is the beginning of a series exploring Patrick and Angela's relationship and their business partnership. Come along on the journey of Dennis Lehane into the streets and neighborhood of Boston. One of the best writers available- collect all of his books. You will thank me. prisrob
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2000
Dennis Lehane's first book, "A Drink Before The War" is a really startling debut into thriller crime fiction. It's not that surprising if a first book is ever so slightly hesitant, perhaps because an author is feeling his way. That doesn't happen in "A Drink Before The War" - it's completely into its stride from just about the first page. I was expecting (and, to be honest, hoping) for the laid-back humour of Robert Crais and, to be sure, it was there but mostly subdued. No matter though; the story got up to speed within a page or two and from then on it didn't let up. Even the occasional and brief paragraph of philosophy, as Lehane stares moodily at American life, doesn't slow things up. If I have a mild complaint at all, it's founded on the relentlessly accurate (I think) description of Boston's highways and byways as private investigators Kenzie and Gennaro move around. For anyone living in Boston, or even slightly familiar with the city, the realism must be rewarding. Sadly, I've never been there but I certainly felt I had after I'd finished reading. Which means, I suppose, that the descriptions did just what they were supposed to do - pull me into the story. "A Drink Before The War" is a great read and well worth it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2017
This book had a great beginning and had all my attention. The humorous speech and descriptions were brilliant.I felt some of the shootouts went on a bit and I began to loose interest towards the finish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 August 2003
This is the third Lehane novel I have read (and yes, I know it should have been the first!). It is a well paced, witty and sharp and I couldn't put it down. Patrick Kenzie is a PI who always seems to have a "wise ass" comment and together with his partner and long time friend Angie Gennaro are hired to solve various crimes. I have read PI novels before, but most of the main characters are male and, while there is nothing wrong with this, you have to admire Lehane who has developed a gutsy female PI who can kick ass with the best of them. Actually, there are times in the book when her balls are bigger than Kenzie's! Superior stuff, an exceptionally good PI novel. Oh, and by the way - BUBBA ROCKS!!!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
***NO SPOILERS***

I read this after I'd read the following installments, and it's very noticeable how Lehane's style has adapted as the series has continued; here the character is very much the standard wisecracking P.I, who has quirky friends and quirkier enemies. As the series continues, the characterisations become a lot more specific and detailed, and the relationship between the partners develops most pleasingly. This isn't too much of a detraction though here though, as this first episode is far more brutally descriptive than the following stories.

I'd have to warn sensitive readers that there are wince-inducing torture and abuse descriptions, which stayed with me for far too long after the book was finished. Really - I couldn't help sucking in my breath as I read, which is a huge compliment on the quality of writing, but it really was sadistic.

However, if you can brit your teeth and bear it, the effort will reap rewards as this is probably his finest book (some of the plot is slightly predictable, but it takes nothing away from the enjoyment) other than Shutter Island.

Get this first, and you still have all the following stories to look forward to - lucky, lucky you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2012
Patrick Kenzie and Angie Gennaro are Boston private investigators operating out of an office in a church belfry in Dorchester. They get hired to undertake a seemingly easy case from three Massachusetts politicians: find a former cleaning woman who has stolen some sensitive documents from them. Of course the case turns out to be considerably less straightforward and vastly more dangerous than it initially appears.

This is the first of the celebrated Kenzie/Gennaro series and its voice, and that of Patrick, the narrator, is noticeably younger, certainly more wise-ass, that later novels of this series and later of Lehane's other novels. In spite of this the novel offers a serious consideration of racial tensions in the Boston of the early 1990s in the guise of a very satisfying crime thriller. Typical of Lehane's work it is run through with a strong sense of place and a Greene Catholic sensibility contemplating right, wrong and trying to discern the lesser of the evils in the midst of the routinised violence of poverty and criminal activity.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2009
After reading Mystic River, which in my opinion is one of the best books i ve read in my life, and probably the best one Lehane will ever write, i decided to look through this author s works and start reading them from the beginning. Whilst not even remotely deep and brilliant as Mystic River, i was pleased to see that this author here is not just a one success novel guy as so often seems to be the case with many writers who after a single bestseller fade into obscurity.
The novel reviewed here is Lehane 's debut novel some years back, and the first to his Kenzie/Gennaro series. Absolutely loved these two characters, partners in a duo private investigation agency, Patrick Kenzie and the beautiful Angela Gennaro. Both carry their own heavy baggage with them, Kenzie the victim of a cruel, abusive father in his childhood and Gennaro whilst being tough and certainly no helpless damsel in distress, the victim of a violent husband. Really liked the way the book was written, in the first person (Kenzie being the narrator)with a wise crack thrown in every page for good measure, and a sarcastic sense of humour that was perfectly accomplished. Against other reviewers here, did not like very much the Bubba guy. Not him pesonally, cause i definetly liked the fact that though being a psychotic killer could be made to blush like a little boy by the beautiful Angela. But i found him a bit too convenient sometimes, and unrealistic.
In short the plot revolves around the stolen documents from the state house by a black cleaning woman. The local senator hires the services of Kenzie and Gennaro to find the missing woman and bring back the stolen documents. Simple enough, yes? Wrong, cause by finding the woman our two characters soon discover that there is more invoved than they bargained for, and staying alive not so simple anymore! Cant wait to read more from this series, also to discover how the relationship between these two here evolves.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here