Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 July 2017
Love Anne Frank, so can only give it 5*
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2008
This wonderful little book is a collection of Anne Frank's lesser known writings , found in a seperate volume.
It shows what a phenomenal young writer she was , and hints what a great author she may have been had she been allowed to live.

The book consists of fables and short stories as well as personal reminiscenses and essays.

They range from 'Kitty' - Anne's reflections on the blonde little girl next door , to beautiful fairy tales (which remind me a bit of Oscar Wilde's fairy tales) like 'The Wise Old Dwarf' and 'The Fairy'-all have a wonderful lesson enclosed within.

'Paula's Plane Trip' and 'Cady's Life' focus on the adventures of young girls during wartime , the latter touching on the holocaust which later swallowed up Anne's young life.

A constant theme in the book is Anne's conviction that relaxing and connecting with nature , can ease one's mind from any difficulties.

In 'Personal Remininscinces and Essays' Anne Frank lets us know a little bit more about life in the little house where she and other Jews hid for some years from Nazi terror.
In a particularly poignant passage , she remarks that after the war , she would get together photos of the people in the house, which is why she spent so little time on physical description of the house's inhabitants. Anne was confident she would survive the war , and recontinue her life.

A remarkable testament to the wonderful life of a child whose life was cut so short.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2002
Anne Frank's diary has fascinated me since I was 6. Imagine my delight when discovering that a publication of her other stories existed! This is the perfect companion book to the diary; some of the tales (i.e Blurry the Explorer) are mentioned in her diary and it's wonderful to be able to place them alongside the real events she was writing about. She wrote beautiful, and eventually heart-rending, fiction, as well as her captivating diary.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 January 2009
A collection of made up stories and reminiscences (and some that are a mixture of both). These show (assuming the faithfulness of the translation) that Anne had a great writing talent for one so young, and writing moreover under such conditions of almost unbearable stress and tension, cooped up with family and others, surrounded by a world persecuting her and her kind for their very existence. A moving collection.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 January 2005
This book is in two parts. The first is fables and short stories and the second is personal reminiscences and essays.
I personally preferred the second part of the book because I'm not a big fan of short stories. However I found all of Anne Frank's writing to be positive and insightful. I kept a diary from the age of eleven and I doubt that my writing from the age of thirteen could be compared even closely to Anne's. Yes the stories are childish in topic (children, fairies etc) but the themes are relevant to everyone.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2013
How anyone can give this book less than four stars is beyond me. Anne Frank was only a teenager when she wrote this so no, it isn't perfect but every tale has a moral behind it. Shame that Anne was not able to finish Cady's life, her novel the beginning was really good.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2015
Reading this collection of Anne's work, it's clear that had she been allowed to grow up, she'd have been a world famous author. Remembering that everything in the book was written by her aged 13-15, her talent is undeniable - her fables/fairy stories are sweet and have strong morals throughout, and her real life recollections are penned in an amusing and engaging way. Personally, I prefer her non-fiction to her fiction, and those who have read the definitive version of Anne's diary will recognize several passages within the book - they can be found in the diary, too. Any loss of life is devastating, but knowing just what Anne could have done for the world with her writings if allowed to grow and mature makes it sharper - she was truly talented.

My only criticism of the book is that about 1/5 of it can be found in most recent editions of Anne's diary, meaning that those familiar with her diary will find themselves skipping various parts of the book. Otherwise, it is an excellent display of the writings of a mature, sensible young lady.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2016
The book is split into three sections: the first reveals snapshots of life in the annexe and reminiscences, interesting additional material for anyone who has read The Diary of Anne Frank. The second contains short pieces of fictional writing, and the third section is the novel that Anne started. Anne comes across as a spirited, lively, confident, intelligent and outspoken girl and some of her pieces are more poignant and thoughtful than most adults could write, and it’s so sad that we never got to see how her writing would have progressed as she matured. There are some very moving lines, such as ‘Perhaps I’ll understand when I’m that old’; she has an unwavering belief that she will survive, but of course the reader knows that she will never be ‘that old’. This book, and Anne’s Diary, are must-reads partly for their historical value and the circumstances in which they were written, but also because there is some genuinely insightful writing here, especially about the power of nature and her musings on what it means to be a good person.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2013
Very enjoyable and in some places insightful. She was a remarkably mature girl for her years and her 'tales' were entertaining. I would strongly recommend it even if you haven't read the original diaries.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2013
I found this book moving and saddening as it made me wonder what talent was lost because of one mans crazyness
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)