Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
9
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
3
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 November 2000
This was my first Iris Johansen book, but certainly not my last. We are introduced to Eve Duncan, who also appears in the later Johansen novel, 'The Killing Season'. Eve's world was torn apart eight years earlier with the murder of her daughter, whose body was never found, and she exists from day to day hoping for the opportunity to eventually give her a proper burial, meanwhile throwing herself into her work as a foresnic sculptor.
Enter John Logan, a successful business man who has a skull he wants her to recreate. Eve is initially reluctant, but eventually caves. It soon becomes clear though that there are people who don't want Logan's skull identified, and as it's owners face begins to take shape, Eve understands why, realising that both her and Logan are in grave danger.
It would be easy to say the plot is far-fetched, but Johansen tells her story well, neatly tying each thread and making every one of her characters totally believable. The two male leads, Joe Quinn and Logan are both bullish and dominating, but each are matched by the no-nonsense Eve, who is perfectly capable of looking after herself.
I would recommend this book to fans of Tami Hoag and Ken Follett's 'The Third Twin'.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2017
This was my first taste of Iris Johansen, and let's be clear the woman certainly gets you to turn the pages. This book was written before the fashion for ultra-short chapters, but every other device is used to keep you on the edge of your seat. The plot is almost entirely driven by dialogue, particularly the sticky relationship between Eve Duncan, awkward and spunky forensic sculptor and the driven billionaire John Logan. There is almost no exposition outside of dialogue, which marks this out as an unusual book, and one which can almost wear you out with its frenetic activity. Ultimately, the plot really isn't believable, with the common failing of thrillers of an excessive body count substituting for subtler sources of suspense. For all that, the characters are generally strong for the genre, and readers are unlikely to give up on it thanks to many clever double-crosses along the way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2001
This book revolves around Eve Duncan, a forensic sculptor. She was trying to get on with her life after her beloved daughter was murdered and the body was never found. When she was contacted by a businessman, Logan to investigate a skull, she became a target by a group of people who did not want the truth to be known. Meanwhile, Logan must come to terms with his personal feelings towards Eve and keeping her safe. A very thrilling tale!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The first Eva Duncan book I read was book 19, so I have a lot of earlier books to go through. But, I don't mind that because I have come to love this series very much.

I liked this book very much, it was intense and interesting and I liked getting to know Eve Duncan and Joe Quinn from the beginning. The story is very interesting and I was quickly pulled into it and wanted to know more. Whose skull is it and why are people so desperate to getting it back? There came a point in the book when I thought "no way, this is too farfetched, but then Johansen twisted the story once more and then the story seemed to make more sense (In that bookish way you know. Hard to think of something similar happen in real life). Anyway, it's a great book and I quite liked John Logan, and I liked that Eve and Logan spent most of the book arguing although grudgingly Eve started to soften more and more towards him and let's say Quinn was not all too happy with that, despite the fact that he is married.

The face of Deception is engrossing, a bit sad, thrilling and, definitely surprising. I recommend it warmly!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2013
This is my first book by this author.
I didn't find it riveting, but it moved along very well.
Eve is the main character and and even by the end of the book I didn't like her any more than at the beginning.
Why four stars? because I would be happy to read another book to see if she improves .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2015
good book, good story, interesting characters
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2008
Eve Duncan's daughter Bonnie is killed by a serial killer and her body was never found. Eve becomes a forensic sculptor and puts faces on the skulls of unidentified murdered children so their parents can finally take them home. She knows Bonnie is dead, but she's still looking. Kinda gruesome.
Billionaire John Logan wants Eve to construct a face to skull he has. She resists, finally assents because someone is pressuring her not to and apparently that same someone doesn't want Eve to succeed.

There are many twists and turns in this five star suspense thriller, though some Johansen fans may not be happy as the romance defiantly takes a back seat to the suspense. I loved this book. It's the first in a series and I'm starting the next one tomorrow. Again, this was a great five star read.

Reviewed submitted by Captain Katie Osborne
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2016
An enjoyable read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2015
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

£6.99

Need customer service? Click here