Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 20 January 2017
Not much to review. It is a good quality product and the content is up to everyone to judge. Good books to read. Great story. Well written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 February 2017
great!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 September 2015
One of the best standalone character origins stories in the star wars universe. Ties in lovely to the fourth (or the first as us old ones know) Star Wars film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 March 2013
this is the 1st book of 3 in the life of a young Han solo leading up to the first film Anew hope , an absolutely excellent read !! a must for any starwars fan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 3 January 2014
Here's a book I can get excited about - Crispin is an excellent writer (from what I've heard on the Twittersphere), and she certainly does justice to the ever-expanding universe of the Star Wars franchise. I'm sad to hear that she passed away - I didn't know, I must've missed the announcement. She tweeted me once, a lovely lady and a gifted novelist.

The Paradise Snare is the story of the young Han Solo (and the first book in a trilogy that tells the tale), and it's a powerfully emotive work that shows you a whole new side of Solo - indeed, it shows you how he became the man that he is at the start of the first film. I always found Han to be one of the most enigmatic and charismatic characters in the whole Star Wars ensemble, and it was a pleasure to learn more about his origins.

In all honesty, when I first picked this up I expected it to be terrible - I've read enough bad novelisations to last a lifetime, and it's always a risk for an author to breathe new life in to someone else's characters. With my hand on my heart, I can say that she did Han justice - he's amazingly alive, about to pop out of the pages to go blasting down your hallway on the trail of his first love, Bria Tharen.

If you're a serious Star Wars fan then you should read this book - it'll change the way you look at things forever, and that's no bad thing. A good book changes you forever, leaving its indelible mark somewhere upon you - this book delivers that and more and leaves you longing for the sequel, as it should.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 September 1998
This story grabs your attention right from the outset. From the very moment the listener is introduced to the character Han Solo, our favorite blaster-wielding pirate has already gotten himself into dire straits! In this story, author A.C. Crispin has successfully crafted the early-years biography of Han Solo. Reader David Pittu guides the listener through an action-packed chronology of Han's upbringing, his adolescent years, and the evolution of his penchant for the unethical. A must listen for diehard Star Wars fans.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 June 2007
This book is mint. I couldn't put it down. It is the 5th Star Wars book I have read and arguabley the best. (Dark Lord Rising and Labrinth of Evil are also excellent) The introduction of new characters, planets and a little bit of Han's history make this book a great read. It gives an introduction to the Hutts, involves blaster fights, bounty hunters and a little romance and you get a good feel to Han Solo's character. You can also get a good idea of Corrusant, the Galaxy's capital. I can't wait to start the second in the series.

I wouldn't reccommend this book to anyone who doesn't like Star Wars, but if you are interested in reading another Star Wars Trilogy, then this book is definatley for you.

Basically if you like Star Wars this book is great, and you'll love it. If you don't, give this book a miss.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 June 2004
Ive never been much of a reader but i am however a huge star wars fan so i decided to give these books a read.
Now let me tell you this book is fantastic i liked it so much it made me go out and buy 21 other star wars books. The book takes you into Han Solo's world and if you didnt before you will learn to love him. Before i read this book i was a Luke Skywalker fan but now im turning to Han Solo. The book takes you to a time before the original films and tells a story of love passion and aventure with Han being the hero.
Frankly if you like Star Wars you will love this i promise you and even if you dont like star wars but you just wanna read a good old fashioned adventure story with the girl , the heroine and the bad guy you will definatly definaly love this book.
So go out and buy this book and then buy the other 2 in the series and sit back and enjoy you wont wanna put this down!!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 July 2000
Not only are the stories told excellent but AC Crispin manages to fit it in to the continuity very snugly, involving characters from THE CRYSTAL STAR, DARK EMPIRE and fitting the last novel in with brian daleys novels. Excellent
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 August 2003
This book is a bit slow taking off but once you get past Han remebering about when he was a very young child it starts to pick up. It has two great characters in Murrghh who is a Togorion (a big tiger) and the Mighty Teronezza a T'landra Til.
It is basically about Han trying to get in the Imperial Navy and how he earns the money to join and gets experience flying Freighters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse