Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
88
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 March 2003
A friend of my dad's gifted me this book when I was 10 years old. Till then Chess was just another game to be played against your siblings on a hot afternoon to kill time. This book made a huge impact on my understanding of the game. This book is written in a simple manner, uses a lot of diagrams to explain all sorts of positions and improves your ability to 'think'ahead significantly. Bobby does not go for chess notations - a strong plus for beginners who just want to get a grip on their game and improve the basics.
22 comments| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2009
I bought this book thinking that it was the legendary Bobby Fischer passing on chess tips and discussing his chess, but apart from being on the front cover, Fischer doesn't appear to have much to do with the book.
It's basically a series of chess puzzles which aim to teach chess principles and tactics. Using a pencil you solve the puzzle then check the answer on the next page. This is quite useful in itself but the book is really not much more than a collection of chess puzzles, and I was looking for something a bit more. In fact in terms of these types of exercises its probably better to do the training on a computer programme like Fritz 11. My main disappointment with this book is that I was expecting to read Bobby Fischers thoughts and insights into his chess, but apart from using examples from some of his games, there is very little of Fischer in this book.
22 comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 1999
I had played Chess for more than 10 years, and I was decent social player. I had a couple of other chess books, *SO* boring! Most chessbooks are less intresting than watching paint dry. Then I stumbled onto "Bobby Fischer Teaches Chess" . Wow! He concentrates of teaching the principals of chess in a brief yet vital way. Very short chapters, abundant illistrations, tests in which the reader checks himself so you can measure your own progress! I learned more about chess with this book than I did in more than 10 years of play!!! Sad to say, I had to find new chess partners, because I started winning all my Games. If you only get one Chess book, this is the one!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2003
Simple and straightforward, this gets right into the basic rules and set-ups of chess. Ive never played before with any kind of strategy and B.F. teaches you some good ideas with the use of loads of diagrams. The book is set out so that you have to decide on the right move for each diagram, so instead of just being told what to do, you have to figure it out for yourself. On each next page, B.F. reveals what the right move(s) would be and you can check whether you would have done the same. I would recommend this to any novice who wants to improve their game. Go on, beat some old guy who thinks he is the biz!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 1998
I was able to refine my game with this book because it teaches the basics of the backrank game. Fischer's moves are very slick - no wonder why he had the highest chess rating of his time. This book teaches you how to use your rooks, how to size up force, how to play and defend the backrank, and also how to think. He also shows diagrams from actual games. I would also suggest that you get other books that he authored. You can learn from this guy.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2013
I wanted to learn more about chess and was looking for a book which did this without the need for me to constantly set up a chess board. This is a superbly arranged chess book for beginners and people who understand chess quite well but are only just starting to read and learn more about it. This is a great anywhere anytime read that will increase your depth of understanding and enjoyment of the game by quite a lot and inspire you to read and understand more extended and complex combinations and theories.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2015
Classic book. Very nIce format. In essence it's a puzzle book. No long articles, or even paragraphs explaining theory. It's in at the deep end with practical examples.

There's no sense of Bobby being involved this. Anyone could have set these puzzles. May have been Bobby but who knows.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2003
Don't be fooled by the title of this book! Bobby Fischer was a great player and a great writer(sometimes), but this lack luster effort will surely bore any new comer to chess. This book is largely made up of lots of diagramed postions which are overly simple and not backed up with much written text. It's boring! and could have written better by a much lower rated player. Sorry there are no world champion insights here. There are plenty of better books out there for a person starting out in chess. I'd suggest Yasser Seirawan winning chess series.
Fischer's outstanding classic "My 60 most memorable games" is quite the opposite to this book.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2013
Recommended for beginners, if you're anything but then don't bother with this book. The puzzles aren't the hardest nor would they be too easy for a beginner. It's a fun little book to play with on a train/plane ride.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2013
Here is a unique book for the chess enthusiast, be it a beginner, or someone wanting to brush up their game. and "no you don't need a chess board, just sit back and learn from one of the games most outstanding players : Bobby Fischer, don't let the low price tag put you off, this book is worth every pound...and yes, "it does improve your game" would recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)