Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - Noel Gallagher Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
32
4.4 out of 5 stars
Further Tales Of The City: Tales of the City 3
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 10 October 2016
A fantastic series set in the 80s around the HIV epidemic. Brilliant characters full of gay abandon!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2000
Didn't like this one much at all, though read it for continuity and of course the occasional flash of brilliance. How the heck did Mary Ann get to be a presenter from being a secretary? This was never explained! Please enlighten me! Hated the whole silly Jonestown stuff too. But I love the characters and wanted to see how they were doing, so read on!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2010
Another fantastic book from Maupin in the `Tales of...' series. You could read this book on its own but it is much better if you have read the previous two. All of the favourite characters are back, the residents of 28 Barbary Lane, Anna Madrigal's children and new faces in more tales of their day to day life. If you liked the other books, you will like this one also. A good, funny, heart-warming read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2009
The last of the trilogy of titles including Tales of the City, Further... is another fantastical reality-based romp with the characters of the first two installments.

The juxtaposition of stories based around so much coincidence revolve neatly with the matter-of-fact areas of life. Also, there is an "unnamed" movie star who is met by the principle gay character, Michael Tolliver, which merely adds to the crossover of fantasy and realism.

I've never liked fiction before I started reading this set of books, sparked by mild interest in the TV series many years ago but more to the fact that its everyday depiction of many lifestyles draws you into its world.

As all good books should, it stands alone in its story but reading the two book prior to this will help fill some gaps. An excellent, absorbing read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2016
Fantastic book - I first read these when in snippets (sent by post by a friend living in SF - no email in those days) from the San Francisco Times and again when first published - a real reminder of life in the 70's and 80's - but hey Amazon - just because I buy books by a Gay writer (not that it is relevant) - it does not mean that I only buy 'gay' products so stop focusing my 'things I may like list' with a focus on what you consider to be Gay products - anyone can read excellent and entertaining books and sexuality has got nothing to do with it!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2012
I have read three of these books now and I really love them and would recommend them to anyone as I do regularly my friends. I started with Tales, then More Tales and now Further and what i have read so far has encouraged me to read more of Armistead Maupin's books. I love the way the characters move through the books and interact and overlap. If you enjoy good literature give them a go. The nearest I could get to a similar genre author would be Robert Goddard.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 1998
Sequels rarely live up to their predecessors, Armistad Maupin does it yet again and as if by the tap of a typewriter key produces another excellent chapter in the Barbary Lane saga.
Most of the original characters are here together with a "forum" of new ones who keep you guessing right until the very end.
Quite simply if you liked Tales and More Tales you will love this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2014
Having just been to San Francisco l could relate to many of the places mentioned. Enjoyed the storyline and characters; have known about the author for many years when the books were very much in, however never got round to reading them. Glad l have now, will probably read the whole series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2013
Another very readable book from Armistead Maupin. You nead to start at the beginning of the series with Tales of the City, to get to know the characters. It is still very current and contemporary, and funny in a very natural way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2013
Bought the first book as a reminder of the television series many years ago and have been working my way through the series. Really enjoying them so far and am ordering more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse