Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
68
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Perfect Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 July 2017
This book was so different from the film in as he went on a lot more adventures with a lot of bizarre thing happening to him. Just so happens I just finished the book this morning. Loved the book just as much as I loved the film so much so I have already ordered the sequel. On another note - the book came in good condition as it was second hand so I would use this company again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2017
Great book highly recommend it to fans of the film but it is not exactly like the film there are bits that aren't in the film like him going to space or becoming a wrestler 🤼‍♀️. Also there is a second book called Forrest and co
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2014
bought as a present. they love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2017
This book is nothing like the film but it was a good read and you can see why they made a film about it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2017
Amazing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2010
I've read a few film/books in my time. I can remember reading Jaws when it came out and then seeing the movie (the film of the book). They blow the shark up in the movie, whereas the way it dies (it just dies of exhaustion) in the book suits the book. At ten I read the Alan Arnold Star Wars novel, which was effectively the book of the film and it deviatated very little from the film.

Suffice to say Jaws is still on the book shelf and Star Wars, well Star Wars was sold off years ago.

This is NOT the book of the Tom Hanks film. The character is somewhat similar but physically the Gump of the book is bigger, better looking and........well, put it this way, there are things in the book that were never in the film and things in the film that were never in the book.

To be honest I enjoyed it more that way.

The big revelation for me was HOW it is written. Think of it as Forrest telling you his story. There is a chapter of 'reading shock' in which you get used to the wording - next spelt 'nex' and rarely do you get a 'd' on the end of and. Within a couple of chapters you are fully immersed listening to him telling you the story.

If the film helps in anyway, you only have to think of Hank's briliant portrayal to get a face and voice in your head.

But don't come to the book expecting the film. You will get the Writer's Cut!

Is one better than the other? Personally I liked 'em both. You will appreciate Winston Groom's style and grittier story but it will make you pop out the Hanks DVD to see how clever Hollywood can be with converting the written word to the screen.

The book works as a book, the film as a film, but the film of this book or the book of that film.........no.

Well, life is like a box of chocolates......And he says that right at the start of the book, and film.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2014
After many years of wondering I decided to read the book. It is a tribute to the screenwriters art. How they made such a good film from such a mediocre book is a wonder. What is even more surprising is why anyone even considered buying the rights in the first place, but it shows what imagination still exiists in Hollywood!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2014
I loved this book. Told in small chapters, which if you sometimes find it hard to get the time to read is ideal. The book is totally different to the film, which was great, because you had no idea what would happen next. Who knew Forrest would go to space, with a male orangutan called Sue! Totally recommend.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
I wanted to try the book as the film is so good. I found the way it is written, as Forrest would have spoken, slightly difficult at first but then I got to grips with it, and I thoroughly enjoyed the story.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse