Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
12
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 November 2009
"Do you mind if I read my own book now? " my wife enquired after the fifth time in an hour I'd said to her "let me read you this bit." A feast of Freud is the first book in a long time where I have laughed out loud. You read a bit, find it funny, and can't read any more because you keep laughing.

I didn't know Clement Freud's writings prior to reading this book, knowing him mainly from his appearances on Just a minute. How much have I missed? There is a piece about the way a toilet roll should be fitted. Very funny indeed; and quite right of course. The writing is excellent, very well observed and extremely funny. The title of the book "A feast of Freud" is a clue to how best to read it. It is indeed a feast and needs to be taken slowly. Put it down every now and then and go for a walk. It's a bit like a box of Belgian Chocolates, very rich and satisfying. And if you're not careful you will discover that it is crammed full of your favourite centres. A word of warning! Don't read this book in the bath you may very well drown.

Recommended reading for anyone - buy it, read it and then tell others.
22 Comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2017
Frankly did not find it as good as others did.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2010
I loved this book. Being full of Clement Freud's comments and anecdotes, it is as good as his own books. Emma has done him proud.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2012
A really good collection of articles by Clement Freud.
You can even hear his distinctive voice at times, and there are some truly laugh-out-loud moments.
This man was a highly talented writer, who continued right up to to his last day.
If you appreciate good quality, humorous, well-written pieces without swear words, you will enjoy a feast of Freud.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2015
I've been a long-time fan of Clement Freud, particularly since the days of 'Just a Minute'. This collection of writings is erudite, written in nice English (which I like), interesting, and, often, laugh out loud funny.
Recommended!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
Brought this as a gift. it arrived promptly and was enjoyed by the recipient. great product and value for money.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2009
A very funny book and one you can delve into for 5 minuets and put down as time permits, it covers so many situations one has been in and did not think to respond in such a clever way.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2015
Looked forward to his column in the racing post, follow his advice to have five goes on one number at roulette and leave if no joy, sadly missed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2014
Everything that was Clement Freud is here in this book. What an interesting man and what an interesting life
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2015
really funny - laugh out loud writings !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here