Learn more Download now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 16 July 2016
I read this was a novel about teenage angst. But this was different, and strangely detached. Maybe because the traumas that each of the protagonists experience are only to be guessed at, while their consequent self-inflicted punishments have - to me, at least - something of a dream about them. Absolutely no self-pity here, and no sentimentality. As someone said in a Guardian review, Italian novels are usually rather florid and intense. This one, though, is different. The prose is spare and strangely lacking in emotion, although emotion is expressed indirectly - and that is very refreshing. I have only read it the once, but am sure that on a second reading it would reveal more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 November 2014
What a depressing read. Two deeply troubled people drifting along, no storyline, no development. Asperger's/autism may be a fashionable novel theme at the moment, but this does not enlighten in any way.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 May 2016
My favourite book. Perfect!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 August 2017
Ok but not memorable never quite reaches its promise
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 December 2015
The story (and the end) was a bit disappointing. The book arrived in time but, as it was used, it was a little dirty.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 March 2017
It's an amazing book. I recomended it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 November 2009
I agree with other reviews--obviously the author is a promising new talent but the book was disappointing. Maybe it lost something in translation.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 July 2012
I couldn't put it down, it was gripping and amazingly well-written, although a bit upsetting. I couldn't give it five stars because there was something missing, perhaps it was lost in translation, I'm not sure. But a great book, I would definitely recommend it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 September 2013
Be warned, this book is literature in translation, so there will be no hollywood clichés, nor perfect happy ever afters. But that's what makes this book so speacial to me - it's real, unpredictable and heart-breaking. It's about real life, and forbidden love, but not in the hollywood sense.

It makes all other books seem dull and cheesy. The author throws out the rule-book for typical romance stories, after all, there is no such thing in reality, is there?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 November 2014
It lingers.

There's no easy neatness, no pattern. Just parallel lines that can never quite touch however you might want them to
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse