Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
33
4.8 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 March 2017
It was a great book for my I like story of the First World War I would recommend this book for all
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2005
At school we were told 2 read this book, i was apprehensive at first as it seemed boring, the fact that this book was about the war didn't help either. After the book had been sitting on my bedside table collecting dust, finally i picked it up and started to read.
After reading the first two chapters rather unwillingly, i got into the book. It is a story about two families with rather different backgrounds - the daughters become closer and discover similarity in their totatally different lives. We feel the emotions of two girls bonding and coping with their loss and pain together.
We feel the terror and destruction of war, yet the beauty and forgivness that can be acheived.
I loved this story and felt myself crying for and admiring the characters.I am glad i read the book after all, and don't be put off by its war background. It is a gripping tale of romance, loss and pain.
11 Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2004
when my mum first bought me this book i hadn't done anything about the first world war at school so i didn't want to read it, but after i began learning about it in history and i started to realise what those millions of young men (some only my age) went through during those terrible, terrible years. then i decided that i had 2 read this book to see what it was really like for these men - just boys really - and the girls side of it: going away to france to nurse the dreadful wounds of the heros that helped this country.
i love the fact that there are letters written from all the five main characters in the book which tells stories about the war from the views different areas of the war: front-line, the difference between the hospital in the small village where they live to the hospital tents in france.
when i finished reading this book i just went straight back to the beginning and read the whole thing all over again. this is definately my favourite book of all time and i recommend this great novel to anyone, any age.
i hope you enjoy it as much as i have.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2017
I remember being very affected by this when I read it in my teens and to this day it still has me welling up. It is a beautifully written tribute to World War One, tailored for a younger reader and to give them a broad idea of the War and the changing attitudes on the early 20th century. A haunting tale that I would thoroughly recommend to any young reader.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 31 December 2009
At first I thought the writing rather "Mills & Boon". How wrong I was! The romantic and simple evocation of country life in a Scottish village near Edinburgh before the First World War, that is described in the first few chapters, provide a sharp and telling contrast to the terrible conditions that men had to put up with at the Front and the anguish of their families back home. The author has created such well-rounded and seemingly real characters that by the end of the book I felt sad for those that were left and the sheer waste of young men's lives. I've read quite a few books about the First World War and its horrors but few that illustrate so graphically the effects on the non-combatant support staff such as nurses and on family and friends back home.

I felt that the book was aimed at a young audience, with its simple style of language, but the author has produced one of the most moving evocations of what the War did to people; how little those back home realized what was really happening; and how the social order was irrevocably altered.

If I were a teacher I would urge my pupils to read this book as it is one of the best books in giving an insight into the futility of the First World War.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2002
Remembrance is a superb book centred on the lives of children from two families in the same northern village during WW1. Maggie and John Malcolm live in the local village shop where they wokk alongside their parents and Charlotte and Francis live in the "big house". The story progresses through the war and shows how the lives of the characters become intertwined. The boys go off to war and the girls do war work; working in munitions and nursing. Nothing is as straighforward as it seems and we hear of the boys progress via their letters home from the front line.
This is a very moving book, beautifuly written and reminded me of Vera Brittain's Testament of Youth - very similar issues and feelings are explored. This is an excellent novel for readers in years 7-9 and would dovetail perfectly with any project on WW1
I would highly recommend it.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2003
This is poignant story of the loss and sadness of the First World War is expertly told by Carnegie Medal-winning author Theresa Breslin. It is the story of 5 young people growing up during the war and the effects war and fighting have on them. This is one of those books that will leave you shocked and saddened, I defy anyone who has read this book not to be left with a tear in their eye at the end. Truly one of the best modern books and one that will stay with you for the rest of you life.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2011
This book is one of the best I have ever read, the characters have a period feel of their time, staying true to the period.

The interplay between the characters is moving to read, as you see things from their view point so young in the beginning of the plot, to progress to become old and war weary by the end.
The descriptions of the battle front is clear and crisp,one of the most powerful aspects of the plot is Francis- the main male character descent into mental collapse at his presence in the battle zone.

This book covers vast subjects (WWI battle front), whilst focusing in the crisp minute the need of humans to maintain a fragment of normality, via devises of humor i.e. the battle of the raising skirt hems.

The exchange of ideas and development of the relationship between Francis and Maggie is very interesting and moving. Unveiled, mainly by letters, the devise of which moves the story along without allowing it to fall into sentimental byways.
Not only does there personal relationship grow, Not only does their personal relationship grow, Maggie's intellectual growth stimulus his, Maggie also as her capacity to reason expands, begins to question her(and females in whole) role in society.

It appears at first sight a simple story however it's well crafted in its development of characters and plot using many types of standpoints.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 March 2010
I was completely bowled over by the Audio version of this book (sadly, abridged).
It was so tastefully written and so beautifully read by Frances Thorburn and Gary Bakewell. I shall definitely keep this to listen to again and intend to read the full written version at some time too.

The five main characters are aged bewteen 14 and 23 at the time of WWI, The Great War. We meet them as the guns of war are starting to be heard over the chanel, yet picnics on a sunny day are still a glorious option.
All five react differently to the impending changes, Francis rejects war as a solution, arguing comprehensively against the whole idea, yet ultimately under pressure to make the ultimate sacrifice. His sister Charlotte, and her friend, Maggie, take the opportunity to leave the confines of traditional women's roles to help with the injured, while Maggie's brothers, Alex and John Malcom, are desperate to fight alongside the other boys of the village in the support of a just cause.
Within this range of five characters is woven an extensive range of view points and responses to the war, add to this the trauma of the parents left behind and the whole becomes beautifully evocative of the effects of war on a small village.
It was startling how little folks back home knew about what was really going on and how wasteful and tragic the whole exercise was. Of course we are familiar with all this now but it doesn't hurt to be reminded from time to time.

I'll admit, it made me cry, always a sign of a good book!
Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2006
Theresa Breslin gives the readers an insight into the terrible Great War, focusing on it from various angles. The five main characters, all young, contribute to and are affected by the war in different ways - from young men fighting in France, to the women working in hospitals and ammunition factories. The book follows the story of two families from very different backgrounds, but who are brought together by the terror of war, as they try to cope with the loss of loved ones. Each character views the war differently, giving us the impression of conflict between people during the war, but above all, we are shown how people were united, how they identified with each other despite their social differences, and how they managed to cope throughout their sorrow. A fantastic read.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99

Need customer service? Click here