Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
894
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.19+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 August 2017
After listening to Sir Terry Pratchett through YouTube and the BBC, I have decided to correct a wrong and begin reading all the Discworld novels. This is the first one. I was not disappointed. This is a novel of some fantastic invention. The ideas within are fantastic and Sir Terry creates some wonderful images in the imagination. He describes the Discworld, and it is an amazing thing to behold.

The adventures are great, but could appear a bit disjointed. This was not a problem for me. There are some stunning things here to keep your imagination sharpened. I think the imagination is very important. Highly recommended. I will certainly be reading more about the Discworld.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
I had never read Terry Pratchett before, assuming it was some kind of cult for teenage boys. How wrong I was. It is really funny in that surreal English way.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2017
an essential lesson in humour,originality and the exuberant use of the English language
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2017
I enjoyed this book immensely the 1st time around. But having it read to me is even better. Thanks Nigel.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2016
I started reading this with great expectations after all the Terry Pratchett hype. I got to the end and was mildly amused on several occasions, but not enough to buy the next book in the series
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2017
Entertaining page turner. Not to everyone's liking I guess. If medieval fantasy is your thing then read it and prepare to be amused.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2017
Love Terry Pratchett books, these hardback editions are brill!! :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2017
Interesting intro into Discworld
Not sure if I can sustain interest through the whole collection, will have to see ....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2017
Great fun, silly and brilliantly weird. I love the side characters and I have always wanted luggage that could walk. Now, where is my picture box?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2017
Never was a fan of audio books but I thought I'd give it a go. I've read the book before and loved it but having someone read it to me just wasn't the same. Maybe it's just me. The review is no reflection on the book which is fantastic as are his other books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse