Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
22
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 December 2013
Rachel Gibson's early books were brilliant (truly madly yours, the trouble with valentines day, not another bad date etc) but lately I've seen a decline in quality as known writers rush to publish books to rival 50 shades (which is a terribly written book which should never have seen the light of day).

Saying the book is predictable isnt a downpoint, we all know whats going to happen, it's just how we get to that point which makes us read these books but I wished I hadnt wasted my money on this one.

Throughout the entire book I'm waiting for the romance, those little 'moments' between the characters, parts that make you laugh. This book had nothing, the defining moment when she realized she loved him was because he bought her doritos and soda and earlier in the book she said that she liked doritos and soda, wow so romantic, he clearly knows her well.

The love scenes were also rushed and not on par with her earlier books. There was just no passion, everything seemed forced. In fact the entire relationship seemed forced.

Having also read a few other of her new ones (which also lack in quality and depth) I'm left wondering if the author has run out of steam or is under pressure from publishers to churn out 'mummy porn'.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 17 August 2012
I have been disappointed with Rachel's last few books but her Novella released earlier this year (Crazy on You) seemed to have her back to her best, but now this book has let her down again.
Having read all her books, the characters in this one seemed recycled from her previous novels and I think she needs to move on from the small towns and the quirky characters that live there.
The trouble with Sadie and Vince was that I never really believed they fell in love and that has been the trouble in her last few books.
I usally download books to my kindle nowadays but I had this on pre-order as a paperback. The layout of the book with the wide margins was annoying and it seemed a good way to pad the book out and make it seem longer than it actually is. It is in essence quite a short story and only took me a couple of hours to read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2012
I am a fan of Rachel Gibsons Hockey series but after reading Crazy for you and not liking it, and then reading this I have to say, I didnt think much of this either, I found it boring to be honest, its just blah! it doesnt really get anywhere or seem like its about much the lead characters are boring and I tried but by chapter 14 I was done, I finished it more to not waste money than to see what happened at the end. My three stars are for the mention of Vince's sister who's book I loved, the fact I have liked Rachel Gibsons books more than disliked them and the other was there was parts of Vince I did like but thats it really let down by this and to be honest unless its a Chinocks book I think I will pass!

Sadie Hollowell,is forced by gulit into a bridesmaid dress for her cousin Tally Lynn's wedding. as she is driving into town, (Lovett, Texas ) she sees a truck on the side of the road so she stops to help, Vince Haven is visiting his crazy Aunt Luraleen. when his truck breaks down after getting a lift from a pretty stranger she ask's him to be her date at a wedding she has to attend, he turns her down and after feels like he owes her a favour for helping him so he shows up at the reception. Vince has issues from the serving in the Navy Seals and his best friend dying in his arms and doesnt want a relationship and Sadie just wants to attend the wedding and leave town, but when Sadies dad is taken ill and Vince's aunt makes him an offer he can't refuse, they both could be hanging around town for a while, they decided to have a friends with benefits relationship but will it work when both of them start to devolp feelings for each other!

This was basicly the whole book, not much new or not been done before and I found it boring Sadie is a bit of a moaner and Vince is sometimes just blah couldnt put my finger on it I liked him when he was in his sisters book but maybe he is better in small doses! this was just not for me
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2013
I have read all of Rachel Gibson's books and have always loved the fact that the books interlock with each other in some way.

Rescue Me is the story of Sadie Jo and Vince and is set in Lovell, Texas .. I was looking forward to this book and wanted to see how it linked with the other books - Daisy's back in town and the novella Crazy on you are both set in Lovell, and Vince's sister Autumn is one of the main characters in the book Any man of Mine and also makes a brief appearance in this book !!

The thing about Rachel Gibson's books that are starting to get a bit repetitive is the over all plot .. Girl meets Boy - Girl and Boy become involved - Boy and Girl separate - Boy and Girl get back together for the big HAE and will likely briefly appear in future books.
Now I know that this is generally what her writing is aimed at and I can handle this, apart from the fact that I have found her characters starting to annoy me, or the background parts unneeded and too fast paced.

What I would like to see is perhaps more of the characters that have already featured in her books previously as side characters such as Deeann Gunderson, or The young twins .. Featuring twins as the main characters could be a nice change. Or how about a story with Nathan Parrish from Daisy's back in town? Or Lexie from Simply Irresistible? or Adam Taber and Wally from True Confessions ??
Just an idea x

I look forward to reading Rachel's next book, although I can already guess the outcome I still enjoy the read =)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2012
I do love Rachel Gibson and I think I've read all of her books, so buying 'Rescue Me' was a bit of a no-brainer, I don't even think I read the reviews before I bought it - but if you're not as impulsive as me then here's a bit about it...

Rachel Gibson is one of the Queen's of the light, fun, sweet, sexy romance genre - she's never really let me down with a book, and you know that you'll enjoy reading anything she's written. Rescue Me was no different in that respect, but the subject was a little 'edgier' than usual.

Sadie is heading back to her home town to be a bridesmaid and on the way she meets ex-Navy SEAL Vince Haven who is broken down by the side of the road (his car is broken down, not him!), Sadie impulsively asks him to be her date to the wedding but he refuses. Sadie is a bit of a sweetheart, and Vince is a bit of a closed book, he's not interested in any kind of relationship as he's getting over some trauma from when he was a SEAL.

Well, you should all know how it ends up anyway, you don't need a reviewer to tell you! I wouldn't say it's as good as some of Rachel's previous books, some of it is a bit rushed maybe and the ending didn't sit quite rightly with me, but I would still recommend it for all fans of Rachel Gibson, or for anyone looking to see how this genre should be done. Sweet, funny, romantic and perfect for a bit of escapism. Thanks Rachel.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2012
I don't think I could possibly write an objective review after reading this story. The plot line having elderly parents is just too close to home for me. Rachel Gibson's books do it for me because she takes you on a journey, you know who will end up with whom but nevertheless the adventure of them getting there and the situational humour that has me laughing out load is the real good stuff. Its what makes her books so popular. This novel was slightly different in that it didn't build drama and end in crescendo, more it was a beautiful portrayal of complex relationships and the way people behave due to their own history. I loved this book as it was personally close to my own situation and even shed a tear. Not sure if all Rachel Gibson fans will praise it as the chaotic humour was a little bit more absent. I would call it a more relaxed version of her usual books. For me, personally, it delivered.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2014
Looking at the other reviews made me wonder if I had read the same book. There were some funny parts in it and I reayly appreciated the idea that they thought they could have a strictly sex only relationship which turned into more. I liked both characters as I usually do with Rachel Gibson books, they are written for adult women who have sense of humour and feel that relationships should have this too. I have already re-read this as I do her others
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2013
This book started with promise and ended well but unfortunately the plot didn't grip me as much as I thought. Maybe my expectations were too high. The characters were believable and the story flowed but something felt missing.
However this hasn't put me off reading more novels by Gibson.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
I think over the years I've read most of Rachel Gibson`s books but this isn't going to be one of my favorites.

Don't get me wrong this is a good, easy read, but I didn't really get in to the characters and for me that makes the story and this story was very predictable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2012
I read this whilst on holiday and it's the sort of story that I would expect from Rachel Gibson. I've read all of her books and this one was okay but definitely not one of her best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£3.07

Need customer service? Click here