Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
149
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 October 2010
Susan Boyle is no ordinary woman. This telling of her journey to date is filled with both pathos and humor. It is one of the most honest accountings I have ever read from a celebrity, and a study in courage, determination, and unshakable faith. There are still bullies who refuse to see beyond who they think is Susan Boyle, yet never take the time to find out who she really is. But as one finds out in this book, she is not that easily dismissed. A must read for people of all faiths and anyone who has faced the stigma of "disability".
It is intelligent, honest, and at times hilarious.
I recommend it highly.
0Comment| 79 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2010
THE WOMAN I WAS BORN TO BE reviewed by CanadianBill

On April 1, 2009, Susan Boyle's 48th birthday came and went without notice. Susan had no money, there was no party, no cards, no anything. It was just another day.

On April 1, 2010 Susan Boyle stood in the Famous Nippon Budokan in Tokyo Japan, in front of an 80 piece orchestra with which she had just sung several songs. She was wearing a diamond and gold bracelet, a gift from Simon Cowell and a beautiful gown designed especially for her. Susan stood there and listened as the 10,000 strong audience sang Happy Birthday while the orchestra played. In the audience were members from her fan site that had travelled from all over the globe just to hear her sing.

The difference a year makes! With humor, humility, wit and great honesty, Susan Boyle shares her incredible journey. The tears and the fears are there - but so too are the joys and the triumphs.

Reading Susan's story, one finally understands how her world was turned so upside down in one brief moment. Instant worldwide fame. The reader can't help but suffer with her as the press beseiges her unrelentingly and then turns on her at the most challenging time in her life - the week leading up to the BGT Final.

In the book, perhaps her former singing teacher and now long-time friend, Fred O'Neil says it best: "Susan Boyle is not an 'ordinary woman'. She is an extraordinary person who's got a different kind of voice and a different personality. She is not like any other person in the world."

I laughed out loud. And I wept. Courage is not being without fear. Courage is being afraid but going on anyway.

Susan Boyle's story is a story of courage.
22 comments| 89 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2010
Loved this book. Couldn't put it down. Read till 2 AM. It's sooo funny. Susan Boyle has a great sense of humour (as she says, she's needed it). Yeah, there some really bad times that she describes and you have to admire her unsparing honesty about herself and others. But the overall tone of the book is upbeat and, yes, inspiring. Can't recommend it too highly to anyone, who loves a terrific story. Wonderful Christmas gift.
22 comments| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 October 2010
Susan's journey is frank, honest, warm, funny, heart-breaking, and triumphant, just like Susan herself. I could not put her book, "The Woman I Was Born To Be", down once I started reading. I felt just like Susan was in a chair next to me herself telling me this story. Her message to never give up on your dreams, your abilities, yourself, and that talent has no expiration date come shining through. Also her determination to never let bullies define you, and if you are bullied to tell someone and not let them get power over you. We have all followed along with Susan from that mind-blowing day of her audiition on BGT, her continued thriumphs throughout the world as she has become a much loved international superstar, yet has remained true to herself and grounded in her roots an beliefs. Susan is one of a kind and what is good in a person. Susan is Susan. Thank God! We've never seen anyone like her, and will not see another in this lifetime. I loved the book and am sure I will reread it. Like Susan's singing, time stands still during this great read!
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2010
Susan Boyle's book reads like Susan is in your living room talking with you. It is personal, funny, wise, brave and honest. You're taken first into her childhood world, the world of a large Catholic family in a small, poor Scottish village, but you end up on a huge stage with an 80 piece orchestra, in front of 10,000 people in Tokyo, Japan - the journey is heart-warming and heart-breaking - and not to be missed.

The press who fawned over her and then turned on her. The family who struggled to adapt to the changes. The fears Susan faced and still faces today............

Susan's determination to turn 'disability' into 'ability' keeps her going, along with her Faith in God, her family, and the people who help her most along the way. You'll meet them all - but the person you'll never forget - is Susan Boyle.

Highly recommended - a Must Read.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2010
My English is not good enough to write a real review of Susan's book.
This book will make you laugh, will make you cry, but most important will make you feel good at the end .
Because, after you have read it all you gain (is this the right word?!) some inner force that make you feel
you could do so many things you thought impossible before.
You realy begin to appriciate more some things you always took for granted, and realise how much diference
you can make if sometimes you raise your voice against the bullying instead of turning your head other way, and, this way, making yourself a part of that cruelty.
To say it in few words: this book is something you SHOULD read. It could make you a better person.
22 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2010
I have really enjoyed reading this book,its funny ,sad, uplifting,and honest,Susan is a facinating person,I dont think anyone could have coped with all the attention that she has had in the last eighteen months,but by reading her book she explains how she has handled it all,
The part I enjoyed most was when she tells you about her childhood,it brought back many happy memories of my own childhood.
She tells her story with honesty and humour, I admire her very much,she is an inspiration ,to never give up,but it must have been very hard for her at times,thankfully,her life is now much better.
I will read this book over and over,It should be given to school children to read ,to let them see how bullying can cause such long lasting hurt.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2010
I really enjoyed this book. Susan Boyle must surely be one of the most-discussed figures in modern entertainment, with lots written about her. Now it's her time to tell her side of the story and set the record straight.

Funny, honest and deeply moving. But most of all, quite inspiring.
11 comment| 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2010
This book is an honest and informative read. It reads as if Susan is talking to you.
22 comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2013
I cannot say that I am a huge fan of Ms Boyle's music, despite her impressive voice.
Possibly, because I am familiar with and like other versions of the covers she delivers.
It was her eccentricities and her story that intrigued me to purchase and read this book.

Susan, for me, was an unlikely hero in the tough music and media industry, who despite
this, has gained a significant number fans world wide. Her story has inspired many not
only for her musical prowess, but for her courage and determination too. Susan originates
from humble beginnings and this book reflects her biography, sometimes disarmingly honestly.

The book is well written and the anecdotes and the rhythm of the narrative is
accessible and interesting. I felt I knew Susan quite well after reading it. Susan is
depicted as down to earth and unaffected by any celebrity benefits. I would be hard
pressed to believe that she will ever change. Her sense of humour and mischievous
perspectives are apparent throughout the book.

Its a simple story really, of a youngest child of a large Scottish family, who though a
little spoilt by older siblings and parents, secretly wanted to express herself in music.
Finding stardom later in life through someone like Simon Cowell and his reality shows was
unlikely ever to be predicted. Susan seemingly, isn't someone to conform and this makes me
wonder if her success is ever likely to be repeated by any other person without complying
to the formulas record companies prescribe. Also, starting without an audience mid-life, is
a notoriously risky investment, yet her audience was gathered and converted in an instant.

Susan Boyle must have a star quality that attracts 'bees to honey.' This book explains some
of the attraction. Sure makeovers help, but it is fascinating to me that in the image business
she has by and large, continued to work on her terms. Lessons learned not only from her bad
experience with the paparazzi, but the simple fact that her feet are firmly rooted from a solid upbringing.

Susan Boyle has a powerful voice and an endearing story. This book depicts a fairytale
without gossip, glitz and glamour. It could inspire others to follow their dream and stand
up for who they are and what they believe. This is a light and entertaining read, not only
suitable for fans of Susan Boyle's singing, but also for those interested in how people
have learnt to deal with adversity. Recommended.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here