Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited 4 months for £0.99 Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
36
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 October 2009
An excellent book,very well written and gives a true account of what our troops are going through in afganistan.It is compelling reading,its a job to put it down once you start to read it.Reading the book really makes you feel proud of those young men fighting for us.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2011
An excellent read. I was lucky enough to meet the author at a H4H evening. Extracts from the book were read by young members of the Armed Forces cadets which proved to be very impactive. This is a book featuring ordinary srvice personnel doing extra-ordinary jobs, recording their every day activities in a down to earth, matter of fact way. I found it compelling and insightful.
The author lets them tell their stories.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 June 2010
Spoken from the Front is not, the author says in the introduction, an attempt to give an in depth look at the war in Afghanistan.
Rather it aims to give a 'snapshot' of the fighting and conditions faced by our soldiers over there.
It should be best viewed as a 'starting point' and perhaps, given McNab's high profile and successes as an author, it can help in giving a much wider audience an insight into the true scale of the fighting that the soldiers are engaged in.
Students of the Afghanistan conflict will recognise that some of the more famous incidents are covered here, such as the attempted rescue of a soldier, who sadly turned out to be dead, by very brave men who strapped themselves to the sides of Apache gunship helicopters.
The epic drive taking vital new parts to a hydroelectric plant at a dam is covered briefly, along with medal winning exploits of a number of soldiers and pilots.
Spoken from the front does what it sets out to do - and no more.
It is an excellent entry point to literature on the war, and I would recommend Ed Macy's Apache and Patrick Bishop's 3 Para as good follow ups, which cover some of the big incidents mentioned in McNab's book in much greater detail.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2012
I found the book very moving. Real people telling us what is going on. Our troops should be congratulated on their skill and courage. Yet again innocent young men suffer because of old mens follies. When we will ever learn. A must read for all. Hopefully we may learn to build a better future without going to war.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2012
The excellent and insightful account of how serving members of the various parts of our armed forces coped (and are coping) with the war in Afghanistan is only spoiled by the inclusion of the thoughts and emails home of a self-righteous and not very funny MoD Press Officer. If you are interested in getting a better understanding of how our brave troops are dealing with life in the combat zone, then my advice would be to buy this book, but to skip over those contributions by the Press Officer to prevent yourself from boiling over with anger at his unhumourous contributions which I felt occasionally verged on outright racism.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2010
Although McNab has knocked out some cracking books in the past this one doesnt come up to scratch.
Ok, let me explain. I am a recently retired squaddie and this book was bought as a present. This book is ideal for people who will never know what some of us have gone through, and in that way it portrays whats happening to sons and daughters, brothers and sisters by giving 1st hand accounts from the "Bod on the ground". Accounts from officers to NCO's from all cap badges and services tell their personal accounts in frank detail. Unfortunatley for me it doesnt help when you've been there done that. I personally think that it wont appeal to many squaddies but possibly to their friends back home.
22 Comments| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2013
Its written in an engaging, documentary style , almost like a war diary, that brings the situation on the ground to life; the war through the eyes of the people actually engaged in the conflict, and I found it helpful in understanding why our boys and girls were out there; with the goal to help the Afghans govern themselves in peace and security.
Definitely worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2012
This is another excellent book by Mcnab really grips you into the story. A excellent read if you are interested in the SAS and what really happens within the regiment. I couldn't put it down
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2013
Again topical and a useful insight into modern soldiering but more of a reference than a narrative, from a master of the easy and exciting read, with a good Rifleman's sense of humour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 February 2013
cant go wrong with an andy mcnab read and as always, i wasnt disappointed :-) i would absolutely recommend this book to any andy mcnab fan and anyone wanting an interesting read :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)