Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
1,092
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 January 2002
Following the familiar Dan Brown relentless chasing formula, this book zips the reader through all 360 pages with ruthless vervour around some particular tight blind corners even by Mr Browns standards.
The story revolves around the events both political and personal surrounding the discovery of an alien meteorite, but even at the political level it's the personal characters that make this book an intense rush of a read.
I almost didn't order this book when I noticed it was billed as an American political thriller, but don't let that put you off its as accessible as Disney in summer and twice the fun.
This book is excellent.
11 Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 April 2006
Ok, to start with I belong to the Angels and Demons is better than The Davinci Code camp. You know where I stand. Deception point, is a clever, although formulaic thriller, deeply rooted in science-fact as per Brown's other work. This novel is an action packed story, full of twists and suspense that you'd probably expect. You'll be able to guess where the plot goes throughout the novel and turn your nose up and the pointless love interest, but there's still some very good suspense, and the predictability of the direction of the novel does not detract from it's overall impact. The final action scene was brilliantly choreographed, a masterpiece of cause and effect. Initally a "samey" feel, yet after a quarter of the book you'll be hooked and won't put it down until it's all over.
0Comment| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 27 August 2004
After being blown away by reading his fourth, and most recent, novel "The Da Vinci Code" I went back and read Brown's previous three novels. Although they don't quite read the heights of "The Da Vinci Code", all three are excellent reads.
"Deception Point" is Brown's third novel. This time there is no sign or Art History or Christianity to be found. The book is centred around an earth shattering discovery in the artic. But the discovery may not be quite what it seems and people will kill because of this.
Overall I found it an excellent 9/10 read. It had me gripped throughout the book. The characters were strong and there were plenty of twists throughout. In fact by about halfway through the book it almost turns into a "who done it" with you guessing (in my case unsuccessfully!" to the end.
0Comment| 62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2006
I have just finished reading this book and I have to say that it just tops off all of Dan Brown's fantastic reads. I started off with the Da Vinci code to see what all the hype was about, loved every second of reading that book so decided to see if his others matched up, and boy to they ever! Reading the back of his other books I thought I wouldn't find them all that interesting (being an avid crime fiction reader) but I just couldn't put them down! I found myself walking along the street trying to read once I was off the train because it was so adictive! The twists and turns of this book made it a thoughroughly enjoyable read despite all the facts and figures thrown at you.
I could see all his books making it into films, Im not sure they would be able to capture the suspence and magic Dan Browns has done though. I cannot wait for another installment of one of his books!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2004
On reading this review you will fall into one of two catergories. You will have either read some of Dan Brown's work and will be looking for more of the same. Deception Point will not fail to deliver. Alternatively you will have never read Dan Brown's work, in which case, read on...
If you are looking for a book that you LITERALLY cannot put down, then this is it. At the end of every chapter he generates an overwhelming desire to read 'just one more'. It is truly gripping.
The story is a fast paced thriller, with an invigorating mix of superb descriptive writing mixed with accurate science and in depth facts about the inner workings of the American political system. It sees the main characters involved in a monumentous scientific discovery in the Artic Circle, which has complicated connontations in the presidential race back in Washington. The answers lie in a conspiracy that runs right to the top.
If you have read any of his other books then expect more of the same. He takes a slightly different angle in Deception Point. There is slightly less information packed in, which I personally feel gives the plot some more room breath. The characters are fantastically diverse and beautifully described, and the plot will have you guessing right till the end.
READ THIS BOOK!
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 9 August 2004
I bought this, Dan Brown's first novel, on the strength of reading The Da Vinci Code. It's not as strong or as indepth as The Da Vinci Code but nevertheless I found it an excellent read.
It centres around code breaking and computing - there is no art history or religion in sight this time. Originally published in 1998 the computing and technology side of the book will no doubt date with time but six years on it is not too dated although I am sure experts will no doubt pick holes in some of it.
The book centres around a couple searching for a key for a newly developed code. The woman, and main character, is in her place of work, a highly secure NSA building dedicated to code breaking. Her partner is in Europe tracking down a second copy of the key which is held inside a ring.
The book is fast paced and I read it within 24 hours. I found it thoroughly ejoyable and although some of the story was a bit predictable there were enough twists to it to make it page turner.
It's not as good as The Da Vinci code but it brought to me a similar excitement when reading it. A great debut 9/10.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2004
Where can i start with this book? 'Brilliant' doesn't seem to do it enough justice! This book is a political/conspiracy mix and Dan constantly 'flips' between the two throughout the book to keep driving the story forward, he leaves the political side with a 'cliff-hanger' while he switches back to the conspiracy which he then leaves on a 'cliff-hanger' before going back to the political game that is going on throughout the book. This was a very refreshing approach from Dan Brown as I was beginning to think his books could only contain characters with a strange penchant for tweed!
I was very surprised how quickly I raced through this book and at the end even found myself wondering if it was better than the Da Vinci Code... I think it's just that little bit better, I'm not sure why but Deception Point really made me want to read it where-as the Da Vinci Code simply intrigued me with interesting theories to keep me reading but it never really sucked my in so that I couldn't put it down.
This book is a very well balanced piece of work from Dan and one I believe has been slightly overlooked by most due to the Da Vinci Code, not because it's a bad book - personally I found it to be alot better as a whole than the Da Vinci Code - but because it isn't controversial enough.
Admittedly this book isn't perfect, there are times when you're left slightly sceptical at how characters get out of a few of the situations they're in (not because the story misleads but because they suddenly get the upper hand rather too conveniently) which does spoil the book a bit and is one of Dan's main failings when he writes (he always seems to make even the simplest 'action' sequence too complex for it to be believable). Aside from this I cannot recommend the book highly enough, Deception Point is the book to read if you're a Dan Brown sceptic.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2004
Having read 'The Da Vinci Code' and 'Deception Point', both of which I thoroughly enjoyed, It is difficult to believe this is Dan Brown and not a 'Bay Watch' script writer trying to make a few quid on the side.
Unlike the rest of his books, the plot here is paper thin (close to none existent) and the pace is incredibly slow (up until the last couple of chapters). What really kills it is the obviously poor research into IT, Computers, Viruses and Encryption - I cringed the whole way through the book.
If you like Dan Brown because you've read his other books, do yourself a favour and avoid reading this one as it will only spoil your opinion of the author.
44 Comments| 65 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2004
Look on the back cover of any Dan Brown book and you'll notice something of a recurring theme - a stunning and mysterious female scientist, preferably an expert in cryptology, teams up with a slightly foppish academic male, pitting their combined wits against the most evil forces of the world...
...so same deal here. But whilst The Da Vinci Code and Angels and Demons provided a fairly readable romp, Deception Point seriously drags. True, there are a few good twists and turns along the way which provide a bit of fun as they catch you off guard. But there's a lot of repetition, a fair wodge of tedious characters with little or no development and something or a tendency by Dan Brown to launch into mind-numbing detail where it's just not called for. One too many nights spent with an Encarta CD, maybe.
Someone with a fairly limited grasp of English, quoted on the front cover, calls the novel "unputdownable" - it really is very easy put down, and Mr. Brown's constant use of italics to emphasise every other word starts to grate after a while.
Do yourself a favour - enjoy breaking "the Code" and enjoy the unexpected twists of Angels and Demons, but stop there and blow your five quid on something a little more original.
0Comment| 64 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2005
When Dan Brown wrote the Da Vinci code he had had three previous books as 'practice'. This is his first book and it shows. The plot is reasonable, but nothing like as compelling or page turning as say Angels and Demons. The characters are skeletal versions of characters in subsequent books and I read through it with a nagging feeling that all the jargon and constant reminders of just how brilliant the main characters are was merely covering a lack of substance and real interesting ideas. There are the charactaristic Dan Brown twists but little else.
About twenty pages before the end I began to wonder "is this it or is he saving the best for the final few pages. It was, and he wasn't.
Disappointing.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse