Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
85
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 April 2008
Have waited for this follow up for a long long time, and yet again it doesn't diasappoint. There are no flaws in Wingfield's pacy scripts, filled with witty dialogue and twists and turns. Am only sad that he died before I could thank him for his top quality efforts with Frost. For those of you who have seen the television spin off, don't imagine these books are anything like it. They are just so much better.
11 comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2008
As you'd expect from R. D. Wingfield, this is a cracking read - funny, dark and fast. Frost is at his unorthodox best when pitted against his slimy nemesis DCI Skinner, and there are so many twists and turns you just can't put the book down. If you're new to Frost, start with this one and you'll be hooked.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 June 2008
It is astounding as to how many cases/plots this novel contains and yet at no time do you lose the thread of them or feel confused.
The dialogue is realistic, the humour has you laughing despite the dark and chilling crimes, the relationships between the police officers are expertly drawn and conveyed and Wingfield makes all this seem effortless.
R D Wingfield's writing is skilful to the point that DI Jack Frost is likeable and deplorable at the same time. The pace is so fast that you can hardly bear to put the book down and not read on. Like the other reviewers and praise on the dust jacket, it's so sad that there won't be any more of Frost.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2008
Its sad that this will be the last Frost book but lovely to be able to say that Mr Wingfield went out on a high. This is the real Frost, not the somewhat sanitised TV version, rude, crude and full of piss and vinegar. Frost and his nemesis, Superintendent Mullett, battle it out to the end in a multilayered story that makes one laugh and cringe in equal amounts.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2008
It's been a long time coming but well worth the wait mutiple story lines
Frost is a great British creation couldn't put it down
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2008
As I've read everyone of these books, I couldn't wait to start this book. Full of humour (that David Jason does to perfection in the TV series) this is so easy to read and to whiz through. The characters and dialogue are brilliant. Am really upset that there won't be anymore, and hope that nobody else writes follow-ups as I don't think they'd be as brilliantly written. Wish that I hadn't finished it so quickly!!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2015
This Frost book is more detailed and longer than previous Frost books written by the late R.D Wingfield. I thought the story was the nastiest in the series as Frost not only has to find the killers but he also has to contend with a bullying new D.C.I and being forced to transfer to another division owing to his dodgy car expences coming to Mullets attention. Despite all this Frost continues as usual with no regard to procedure or tactics. Aided by Dentons police officers who are more loyal to Frost than the superintendant. Frost gets the job done even if it does require burglary and planting evidence in order to catch the criminal.He gets away with insulting the new D.C.I by responding to his orders with rude Spanish and German phrases.Like previous Frost books there are lots of twists and unexpected developments including a vegetable farmer taking revenge on a non paying customer in a unique but cruel manner.Frosts impending transfer forces him to put his house up for sale but he only gets offered £100,000 for it due to its lack of upkeep since he he practically lives at the police station and only goes home if he needs a change of clothes or can't find a empty cell to sleep in.I brought this book to complete my collection and I thought it was gripping and exciting but it was a lot longer than previous frost books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2015
I didn’t approach R.D. Wingfield’s DI Jack Frost series with any great enthusiasm. I’d seen enough of ITV’s Sunday night schedule-filler, with David Jason in the title role, to assume it would be lightweight, middlebrow, plodding fare, with signposted comic interludes.

I was utterly wrong. I gorged all six books in the series — Frost at Christmas, A Touch of Frost, Night Frost, Hard Frost, Winter Frost and A Killing Frost — within a couple of months.

There’s little point writing an individual review of each, as they all follow the same formula… There are usually three cases on the go in each book: a child/prostitute serial murderer, something rapey, and a robbery. Frost, of course, solves all three, each time accompanied by a different sidekick sergeant he’s been mis-matched with (female / posh / ambitious). On the way, he always succeeds in getting one over on his boss, Superintendent Mullett.

Described like that, it sounds typically banale and padded ITV fare. Yet R.D. Wingfield’s writing is anything but. The books are weighty, typically around 500 pages, but they crack along. Frost is multi-dimensional and scatalogically funny, the dialogue believably terse and crude, the narrative pacy, the plot-twists surprising. In short, they are (cue the reviewer’s standby cliche) page-turners, genuinely excellent detective novels.

There are flaws. In particular, the books’ casual sexism will jar with the modern reader. There are recurring motifs of Frost “jokingly” sexually assaulting Mullett’s secretary; there’s lots of sexual leering masquerading as banter; prostitutes are rhyming slanged as “toms”; child pornography is regarded as a minor offence; under-age girls are portrayed as knowing Lolitas; and a frumpy, middle-aged lady notorious for ‘crying rape’ is a stand-by comedy caricature.

Some readers may find it hard to get past these. For what it’s worth, I find them more fascinatingly revealing of the times (the series was published between 1984 and 2008) than I do irredeemably offensive.

My advice: get stuck in, judge for yourself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2016
All of these books about old Frosty are worth TEN stars that Amazon sell! The real Frost is miles away from the made for television one. The book one is a grubby old man who smokes/boozes and eats stuff to mess up his heart. He also is very stupid to let the job rule his life!! There is a lot of crude but VERY funny jokes littered through all of these books. The story lines are brilliant...go and buy one!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2015
Enjoyed all 6 frost novels but found this the best moves along at a cracking. Pace from page 1 our hero more irreverent and insubordinate than ever foiling a DoubleClross by the slimy Horn rimmed Harry sadly there were no more books such is life (and death)
R Wingfield 'R I P
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse