Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
70
The Long Walk Home
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 22 October 2017
I chose this rating because I enjoyed reading this book so much. I have read a few of Val Wood's books now and they just get better and better. The character's are so real you feel part of the story. I shall certainly be reading more books by Val Wood

I have given the rating 5 because I enjoyed the book so much. I have read several of Val Wood books and they just get better and better. Her characters are so real you almost feel part of them
Mavis Hutt
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2017
Thoroughly enjoyed this books story and characters and contrast of poor and wealthy life and work and the coming together of two characters from totally different backgrounds. A highly recommended read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 June 2017
Very good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 November 2017
brilliant read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 May 2017
Brilliant read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 August 2017
Thank you very pleased with order
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 May 2009
Valerie Wood brings such realism to her writing you feel as though you are experiencing the very things the subjects of her books experience! She brings her characters to life and you feel their every emotion. This book, again, does just that. Set in Victorian England, as all her books are, she takes you through Mikey and Ellies adventures after both leaving Hull for very different reasons. Mikey lives in poverty and Ellie comes from a priviledged background, however they both find themselves struggling when they meet up in London and their experiences bring them together to unite them regardless of their backgrounds. As ever Valerie Wood manages to highlight the appalling poverty that was predominant in Victorian times , but at the same time she highlights how much of a community spirit there was in those terrible times. People trusted each other and no matter how hard up they were they were always willing to help out their neighbour! What a lesson for us all!
As I live in the area that her books refer to, I have an affinity with these characters and places. I have read every book Valerie Wood has written and she has never disappointed me! My only complaint would be that she does not write fast enough!!!! I have to wait too long for the next read!
Well worth a read in my opinion.
Jill Morris
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2017
Beautiful story read a few of val woods books I can't put them done
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 July 2017
Good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 April 2017
Great read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here