Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
141
4.4 out of 5 stars
Awakening
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 19 September 2017
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2017
Sharon Bolton never fails to deliver!
This is a fantastic book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2017
Really enjoyed in spite of the subject of the story line
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2017
Another page turning in a hurry page thriller
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2017
A book you want to read in one sitting to get to the end but never want it to finish.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2014
A gripping story and a good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2013
I bought this book from Wordery. Although second hand, it was in very good condition. The story was brilliant, absolutely un-put-downable! I hadn't read any of S J Bolton's books before this one, and shall certainly read some more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Superb
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2016
this was over exaggerated. very slow to move on from snakes.. snakes snakes.. then it turned into church/ religion plot. then hidden identities, then gangs, then oil merchants, . then old people, then young people.. it was hard work and out of the 200+ books ive read in 2 years.. the only one i would never recmd. rubbish
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 7 March 2010
In a field awash with gothic crime novels this genuinely felt fresh and unusual to me. Others have already discussed the plot so I won't repeat that but will say that I started reading this one evening and was up until 2am literally unable to put it down.

There are certainly some flaws in the book: the 'surely I'm not the only man to find you gorgeous' moment (!); the rather pedestrian 'love triangle' that doesn't really go anywhere (and how can she have lived practically next door to a man in a tiny village and not know he has a girlfriend?); most of all the motivation of the perpetrator which I can't say more about without spoiling the plot for new readers. There are also a few too many people obsessed with snakes in a small community.

But these are small niggles that can be swept away in the overall narrative. The first half, especially, I found really gripping, the second slightly less so as the action got a little frantic and, frankly, unbelievable. But caveats aside, this is a bold and clever book that I devoured in two nights. I have to confess that I absolutely hated Sacrifice finding the central plot just too outrageously ridiculous for words but Bolton has redeemed herself in this book. Fabulous entertainment.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Sacrifice
£8.99

Need customer service? Click here