Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
104
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Mass Market Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 March 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2013
Bought this for my husband who is a huge David Gemmell fan. He loved the book, loved the series and highly recommends them to everyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2017
Loved it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2015
Gemmell ,never disappoints ! Great story ,great characters always keeps you looking for more ,only negative is when book finishes .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2007
This is the second part in the 'Troy' trilogy and it is just as good if not better than 'Lord of the Silver Bow.'
The book carries of the adventures of the main characters from the first book including Odysseus, Helikaon and the princess Andromache; with the additions of Hektor, Banokles and Kalliades who were met at the end of 'The silver Bow'
Gemmell continues to give a great understanding of all these characters and sustain it, the book is easy to understand again and truly is another great book.
All in all well worth buying if you liked the first in the trilogy.

I was devestated to hear he passed away and cannot continue to write what can only be described as magic
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 16 September 2006
I can only echo the sentiments of other reviewers and send my sincere condolences to the family and friends of David Gemmell. He was without doubt the best writer of fantasy on the planet and will be sadly missed by all his fans and book readers throughout the world. His writing style seemed effortless. Fluid and fluent I would describe it. His books never had a `lull' in them. The reader was drawn effortlessly along and before you knew it you had come to the sad part, the end of the book. To think that there will be no more David Gemmell books after this one is a sobering thought. R.I.P.

The book itself is secondary to the sad loss of David, but readers deserve some insight into it, though I am sure it will be bought by all of David's fans. It would be easy for me to say that it is the best book he has ever written, but that would short change many of the other wonderful books that David conjured up in that fertile mind.

This novel is a follow up to Lord of the Silver Bow and is set at a time when the war of Troy is looming and all of the Kings are congregating each with their own plans for conquest. Shield of Thunder returns the reader back to the time of Ancient Greece, an age of warriors and heroes, a time of myths and legends. Into this age come three travellers, Piria, a runaway priestess, Kalliades, a great warrior with a powerful sword and Banokles who will make his own legends in the times ahead.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2006
This book has the same humour and 'grit' typical of all Gemmell novels.
It continues from Troy - Lord of the Silver Bow. Although the main characters in this book feature only briefly in the first novel, it does have many of the same characters such as Helikaon, Andromache and Oddyeus. The main characters in this book are Banokles and Kalliades.

This book, which is sadly Gemmells last, is in my opinion not one of Gemmells very best but is never the less a gripping read.
I have read 22 of Gemmells 30 novels and not one has been a 'bad' book. Some i'll admit are better than others, but it is an amazing feat to write such a wealth of novels, and at the such high standard. He was very ill when he was writing it, so its amazing that he managed to write it at all.
David Gemmell wrote many gripping novels and was undoubtedly the best in his field. His books had humour, great characters, and that made him the best known heroic fantasy author.
I'm sure his novels will be read by future generations.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2011
No question that David Gemmel was a brilliant writer and his second book in his Troy series is a riveting read full of action, wonders, sense and sensuality. It brings the Bronze Age to life in a very plausible way, as the story of the young King of Dardania Helikaon and his frustrated love for the beautiful Andromache. But the bulk of the book follows the adventures of two renegade Mykene warriors, Banokles and Kalliades, who rescue the mysterious and troubled beauty Piria. While I found the minimization of Helen of Troy as a plain and mousy character lacking significance difficult to digest as this is the essence of the Iliad, and likewise the emasculation of Hektor, the added dimensions made up for these disappointment's. The character of Gershom who we find out will be a major player in another historic saga is quite astounding. The battle scenes are gory and the cruelty of some of the generals and kings of the time is quite disturbing. But the passions and exploration of inner are equally well delivered. All in all a great installment in this historic fantasy thriller.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2010
Strange that the first book concentrated so much on the character of Helikaon that you might spend some time with the first chapters of this wondering why Gemmell concentrates on two Mykene warriors, who were in the final fight in the last part of the first book, so much. In fact Helikaon hardly appears at all until later, but by then Gemmell has got you so into the characters of Kalliades and Banokles that you realise he has cleverly introduced another level to the story.

I won't spend time giving away the story, but Gemmell again sets up many characters and settings and easily puts you in touch with the smells and flavours of the time.

Great stuff - and a good middle section to the trilogy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2006
I agree with those who expressed sorrow on hearing that David Gemmell had passed away, and like many others I am an avid reader of all his books, but this a review so. The first book was a fast paced book that seemed to rush up to the start of war (in a good way), this one begins three years later with the war started and the two sides trying to out manover each other, and take as much of the Great Green as possible. This is a well written book and I have to admit I love some of the characters Kallides and Banokles especially, and these two are often the main characters in this one as well as the last. The main problem though is it is a middle book and feels like one, slow in places as it builds up to the last book (I hope david's wife is going to finish it a fitting tribute). A few parts feel rushed, but all in all it keeps you hooked and continues the story well, although i admit to finding it difficult to feel anything for Achillies, Hektor or the rest as we already know what is going to happen in the end, but it is fun reading a fantasy author's idea of it.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse